Snickerdoodle Krispie Treats with Cinnamon Frosting

As we continue to celebrate Marshmallow Week here at Made By Mike, I’d like to reintroduce you to one of my original recipes from back in February of last year. The sweet and crunchy Snickerdoodle Krispie Treat.

Rice Krispie Treats, great just as they are. Even better when the recipe is tweaked just a tad. I’ve been trying to get my head around creating a rice krispie treat with a snickerdoodle-like flavor. You see, the soft and chewy snickerdoodle just might be my favorite cookie. If you’re looking for a great recipe, check out the one in Martha Stewart’s Cookie cookbook. They are cheered by most of my friends.

But back to the task at hand, the Snickerdoodle Krispie Treat. I started with the blank canvas of the traditional rice krispie treat recipe that’s right on the box. For my twist, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. I love that you can see the little flecks of cinnamon in each treat. Alone, the treats were terrific. I decided to take them up another notch by adding a cinnamon-sugar frosting. You’re welcome to leave it off, I wouldn’t. It’s pretty tasty on its own.

Enjoy this made by mike original recipe. I’m busy trying to think up my next twist on the humble rice krispie treat. Stay tuned and please feel free to drop some suggestions in the comments section.

Snickerdoodle Krispie Treats with Cinnamon Frosting -Made By  Mike original recipe

Makes 24 with lots of delicious scraps.
For the snickerdoodle krispie treats:
3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
4 Cups of miniature marshmallows
1 Teaspoon cinnamon
1 Teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6 Cups Rice Krispies cereal

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat.
Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
Stir cinnamon and vanilla extract into marshmallow mixture.
Remove saucepan from heat.
Mix in Rice Krispie cereal until uniformly coated with marshmallow mixture.
Spread the mixture evenly in a buttered 13x9x2-inch pan.
Cut into 24 pieces with a 2-inch round cookie cutter. Save the scraps for a snack.

For the cinnamon frosting:
2 Cups powdered sugar, sifted
4 Tablespoons melted butter
2 Tablespoons milk
1/2 Teaspoon cinnamon

Add melted butter, milk and cinnamon to the powdered sugar.
Beat until smooth and creamy.
Spread about a teaspoon of frosting on each snickerdoodle krispie round.

 

 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Food & Drink, Marshmallow Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Two of my favorites in one treat! Looking forward to trying your recipe!!

  2. So incredibly genius to add cinnamon to rice krispie treats! (The frosting sounds very tasty too, although I bet they hardly need it.)

  3. Love love love….Snickerdoodles and Rice Krispie Treats…so….what’s not to love here?
    Excellent! You make it look so yummy…will have to try it!

  4. These look delish! Must try them. How about the addition of caramel and chocolate? I’ll leave you to work out the nitty gritty details. Waiting patiently, Carolyn

  5. oh yum. my great grandmother used to make us snickerdoodle cookies. good memories! i bet these are amazing.

  6. What a great combination! I can’t wait to try this recipe, Mike. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Oh snap… I could eat a tray of these!

  8. I want one right now…these sound amazing! I don’t even think they’d make it out of my house…I would eat them all :-) Thank you!

  9. Reblogged this on T-Fun World and commented:
    This looks so good and is everything I could want in a desert!

  10. Sweet Jesus, these look amazing. I haven’t had sweets in a very long time. That has to be some kind of crime somewhere. We are having a bbq this Saturday..this would be a fun and interesting twist on rice-krispy treats. Best of all, children will be there so I have an excuse to make them!

  11. I love snickerdoodles – what a great idea!

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

