Toasted Cheese and Tomato Soup Cupcakes

I hear your collective yuck, but these are seriously good. I bet that if I didn’t tell you there was tomato soup in the cupcake batter, you’d have no idea. But there is, and it makes the most moist cake you’ve ever had. Combined with a few spices, you’ve got a great little cupcake. It’s topped with a vanilla-mascarpone frosting. The original recipe is from the Baked Explorations cookbook by Matt Lewis & Renato Poliafito.

Now in my little world, nothing goes better with tomato soup than toasted cheese.  While normally in sandwich form, here I went for a parmesan frico to top the cupcake. Frico! I’ve been running around the house all night pronouncing frico in my very best and loud Italian accent. Greg is such a lucky guy.

So yeah, give these cupcakes a try. They are sweet, but not too sweet. The Frico! makes for a really nice counter balance.

Toasted Cheese & Tomato Soup Cupcakeadapted from Baked Explorations

For the cupcakes:

  • 2 (10.75 ounce) cans of low sodium condensed tomato soup
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 4 large eggs

For the frosting:

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 12 ounces mascarpone cheese, softened
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the Frico!:

  • 2 cups of grated parmesan cheese

Making the cupcakes:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners (I made 30 cupcakes with this recipe).

In a large bowl, sprinkle baking soda over top of the tomato soup and stir well. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt and baking powder.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (yes, we are on our third bowl) fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and both sugars together on medium speed until fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat until just combined. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl and beat for a few seconds. Turn the mixer to low. Add the flour mixture in three parts, alternating with the tomato soup mixture, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Scrape down the bowl again and mix on low speed for a few more seconds.

Fill each cupcake liner about three-quarters full. Bake for 25 – 28 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.

Allow to cool in pan for 30 minutes, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Making the frosting:

In the bowl (bowl #4) of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter until it is completely smooth. Add the mascarpone and beat until combined.

Add the sugar and vanilla and beat until smooth. Do not overbeat.

Place the frosting in a pastry bag with a large tip and pipe enough frosting to cover each cupcake. You can also use an ice cream scoop or offset spatula to frost your cupcakes.

Making the Frico!:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place tablespoon-full mounds of grated parmesan on a parchment-lined baking sheet that’s been lightly coated with cooking spray about 2-inches apart. If using a silpat, the cooking spray is not needed. Bake 8-9 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool 5 minutes, then move frico to a paper towel-lined plate to drain any excess oil. Once completely cool, break each frico in half and place on top of frosting.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in All About Greg, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 44 Comments.

  1. My Mom made a Tomato Soup Cake all the time when I was a kid. It was her stand-by cake and she always said people wouldn’t like it if they knew what was in it. My brothers and I all loved it though! so I bet your cupcakes are just as good!

  2. livingforjackie

    I might have to try these but change a few things so it’s gluten-free…..hmmmm …never heard of them but I bet they are good!

  3. Tomato soup in spice cake is good. I bet these cupcakes are wonderful. The combination of flavors is very creative.

  4. I really enjoyed flipping through Baked Explorations. The headnotes in that book were truly entertaining. Good to know that the tomato soup cupcakes are a go!

  5. I would absolutely love to try these! I bet they are just yummy. I think the Parmesan frico is great topper too! You should practice saying it while you gesture emphatically in Italian ;-)

  6. You certainly got my attention! After reading thru it…I now want to try them. Thank you :)

  7. Oooh, this sounds interesting! A sweet and savory treat!

  8. Definitely one of those “must be tried to be believed” recipes — I’m going to have to get my guts up to do this one day. ;)

  9. You da man! I have a random can of tom soup in my pantry & was wondering what on earth I was going to do with it. It would *never* have occurred to me to bake with it, but bake with I shall. Cheers for the post!

  10. one ordinary day

    Hmmm. This is so unusual, that I’m really wishing I could try one right now. I’m intrigued!

  11. I have the book….and was reticent to try them, I guess I have to give them a go!

  12. I have a very old Campbell’s Soup cookbook that was my mother’s that has a recipe for tomato soup cake that she would make for us fairly often. It’s a little weird but I agree that it’s delicious! I’ve even made green tomato muffins before. They aren’t as good as the tomato soup cake.

  13. What a great idea and they look fantastic.

  14. Wow! How creative!! Brings back childhood memories….:)

  15. So I didn’t have a huge yuck reaction because I’ve heard of tomato soup cakes buuuuuut I’m skeptical. That being said, I’m totally going to have to have a go with these!! I love interesting food combinations.

  16. i would probably eat these until my stomach hurt. omfg, they look so good.

  17. These look amazing! I love the flavor combinations … they’re sweet and savory, moist and crunchy. Love that you used Campbell’s tomato soup.

  18. wow, I hadn’t heard of using canned soup in baked goods. Definitely intrigued!

  19. You had me at tomato ;-) I think this Sounds the opposite of yucky!

  20. just another reason why I love your blog…I nominated you for two blogger awards…come and check out what you’ve won (sorry no cash prizes here…) http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/13/feelin-the-love/

  21. I admit to being sort of scared (and grossed out) at first, but one bite, and I was a believer. Thanks for sharing!

  22. interesting combination, we’ll have to give this recipe a go one day!!

  23. itselliewellie

    I’ll have to try these! I love the frico =]

  24. These sound awesome!!! :O I’ll definitely have to try them out.

  25. Oh, boy. This is making my mouth water.

  26. What a creative idea for a cupcake. Might have to try this!

    On another note, I nominated you for the Food Stories Award. You can check out all the info here http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/

    PS love the way back Wed posts :)

  27. This looks so incredible! Great idea!
    Trish

  28. LOVE, LOve, LOVE! So creative! Who ‘woulda thunk’ tomato soup with grilled cheese could be morphed into a cupcake? Brava!

  29. HELLO deliciousness! Can I count this as a meal?! I will definitely be trying these. They may not make it out of the house for others to try though…anyway. Thanks for following my blog. Yours looks like a lot of fun with some great ideas. Looking forward to reading through it :-)

  30. i’m so intrigued…

  31. Comfort food in cupcake form. Yum!

  32. Never expected those to look so good – will definitely have to make them, they look incredible.

  1. Pingback: Feelin’ the Love… « In Her Chucks

  2. Pingback: Link Love :: June 15 |

  3. Pingback: Tomato Soup Cupcakes! « stick to your greens!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

