cherry striped icebox cookies

Have you ever been working through a recipe and about half-way through the longer-than-expected process, you wondered if the result would really be worth all the time and trouble? That’s exactly how I was feeling about these Striped Icebox Cookies from Martha Stewart. You see, I have a very bad habit of not completely reading through a recipe before I begin. And when you do that, you don’t realize little things like the dough needing to chill not once, but twice during the assembly process. With blondies, it’s always mix, dump and bake. Not with these cookies.

But let me tell you, I’m glad that I soldiered through with these cookies.  They taste wonderful.  The three tart and chewy cherry stripes counter well with the crisp sweetness of the corn meal cookie layers. A word of advice, don’t cheap-out on the cherry preserves.  Those flavorful stripes are the stars of this cookie. On my father’s recommendation, I picked up a jar of Bonne Maman Cherry Preserves. They are from France and well worth the nearly $5 a jar price tag.

Here’s the link to Martha’s recipe. The only change I made was to sprinkle a little sanding sugar on each cookie slice before baking. And remember, these are not a quick cookie, put aside an entire morning or afternoon to make them. It’s worth it, trust me.

Finally, a word of thanks. You may have noticed that the blog looks a bit different. My very good friend, and talented designer, Jason Gibson created a new logo and look for me.  I couldn’t be more happy. If you are looking for someone to hire for a design project, I couldn’t recommend him more highly. He also designs and sells some pretty cool t-shirts.

Enjoying the blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in Food & Drink, Martha Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have never seen cookies like this, but now I want!

  2. They are seriously good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

