cranberry walnut oatmeal cookies

This Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookie is one of the reasons that I brought back the 5 Days of Sweets. I adore chewy oatmeal cookies (see this recipe from a few weeks back.) The addition of the cranberries and walnuts add great flavor and texture.  The next time I bake a batch, I may throw in some white chocolate chips, too. How bad could that be?

The original recipe is from our friends at Crisco.  I swapped out the shortening for butter. I’ve been stocking up on butter for my holiday baking, so there was plenty on hand. I don’t usually have shortening around, unless it’s to make my Dad’s amazing Ginger Cookies.

Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookiesadapted from Crisco Holiday Cookies Advert.

Yield: about 3 dozen cookies

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 3/4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat butter, sugar and brown sugar in a large bowl on medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time and add vanilla. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Beat the flour mixture into the butter mixture until smooth. Stir in oats, cranberries and walnuts. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart on lined baking sheets.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until light brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes, then place on cooling racks to cool completely.

If you are enjoying the blog, I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. These look delicious. And perfect for my holiday cookie teacher gifts.

  2. Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

