garlic vinaigrette

On Friday I picked up our first spring share of crops from the Crown Point Ecology Center’s C.S.A. In our magic box we found a bundle of green onions, some crisp young kale, and a bag of assorted tender and delicious lettuce leaves.

My attempt at making kale chips was not successful.  The young kale couldn’t really stand up to the heat of the oven.  That’s ok, I’ll try again later in the season.

For dinner last night I paired the ever-scrumptious pasta with sausage and roasted peppers with a salad from our share of lettuce. To dress the salad, I made a very simple garlic vinaigrette. A slight drizzle on the delicate leaves made for quite a delicious side dish. We both sopped up the remaining drops on our plates with garlic bread.

I’ll be the first to admit that our fridge is chock-full of bottled and mass-produced salad dressings. It was so nice to take a break from them and make a dressing from scratch that included ingredients that I could pronounce and not question its origin. Give this sunny-yellow dressing a try.

Garlic Vinaigrette - adapted from Martha Stewart Living 

  • 1/4 cup white-wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon very finely minced garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Add all of the ingredients to a jar with a tightly fitting lid.  Shake vigorously to combine until fully emulsified.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Food & Drink, Martha Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. oneordinaryday

    Sounds delicious, but I’m a sucker for anything garlic.

  2. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog
    and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the closing phase :) I take care of such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  3. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come
    here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Excellent work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

