nutella swirled blondies with toasted hazelnuts and chocolate

Blondie Week, day four. Also known as Nutella Swirled Blondies with Toasted Hazelnuts and Chocolate day. You are going to need a great big glass of milk to go with these amazing bars.

My partner Greg has quite the affinity for Nutella. It’s a hazelnut spread with skim milk and cocoa. It’s very big in other parts of the world. Often more popular than peanut butter. If we can get enough people to munch on these bars, I think that Nutella-Mania will sweep the states.

With this recipe, I knew that I was going to swirl the Nutella into the batter right before baking. I also wanted to really play up the Nutella flavor by mixing in toasted hazelnuts and semi-sweet chocolate morsels into the batter. It worked perfectly.

To toast the hazelnuts, just place about half a cup of raw hazelnuts on a baking sheet and toast in a preheated 350 degree oven for about ten minutes.  You’ll be able to smell their toastyness. That’s when you know they’re done. Once cooled, you can roughly chop them for the recipe. Be careful, they roll like little nutty marbles.

Nutella Swirled Blondies with Toasted Hazelnuts and Chocolate

  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • 8 tablespoons (one stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup toasted hazelnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3 rounded tablespoons Nutella

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, Line an 8-inch square baking pan with foil or parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides. Spray with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix melted butter with brown sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla extract.

Add salt and flour. Mix until just combined. Add hazelnuts and chocolate chips.  Mix until evenly distributed in batter.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Drop three rounded tablespoons of Nutella onto the batter. Swirl into the batter with a knife.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until the middle is set. Do not over bake. Let cool on a rack for 15 minutes, then lift using the foil or paper and transfer the blondies to a rack to cool completely. Remove the foil or paper and cut into squares.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.


8 Comments Add yours

  1. thickethouse says:

    Nutella and toasted hazelnuts. Two of my favorite things in the world! But are you helping me with my southbeach diet?

  2. michael says:

    I can’t even help with my own diet. 🙂

  3. Janet says:

    This post has caused severe cravings that have woken me at 3 a.m.! I’ve decided to make this recipe for my Food Bloggers Great American Bake sale on May 14th… I hope I can make them last that long!

    1. michael says:

      Janet, Good luck keeping them uneaten. Enjoy!

  4. This looks sinfully delicious!

    1. michael says:

      Thanks Barbara. They are!

  5. oneordinaryday says:

    Oh, I’m so wishing I had more nutella in the pantry!

  6. Melissa says:

    Ok. I’m going to make these next. I love nutella. I love to open a warm croissant spread some nutella on it and put some strawberries on top. Makes an amazing decadent snack. Your tummy would love you.

Leave a Reply

