white chocolate mocha blondies

So, you know how I made those Strawberry-White Chocolate Blondies a few weeks ago. Since then I’ve barely missed a day of baking up a new blondie concoction. So what the heck. Let’s just call it Blondie Week on made by mike. There are worse ways to celebrate a rainy spring week. Am I right?

After trying several “base” recipes for the blondie batter, I’ve finally settled on one that I love. I found it through Smitten Kitchen. Deb swears by Mark Bittman’s basic butterscotch brownie recipe from his phenomenal cookbook, HOW TO COOK EVERYTHING. I go back to this book frequently for the basics in cooking. Honestly, if I could only have one cookbook, this would be it.

From Bittman’s blondie base you can add your own mix-ins and flavors. It’s nearly impossible to go wrong. The flavor combination possibilities are endless.

Want to know how you can get a freshly baked batch of these blondies or other baked goodies? Check back on Monday, May 2 for all the details about the first Made by Mike Relay for Life Bake Sale. My partner Greg will be participating, for the second year, in the Relay for Life. All proceeds from the event benefit the American Cancer Society. Greg will be walking in memory of his father.

White Chocolate Mocha Blondies – Adapted from Mark Bittman’s HOW TO COOK EVERYTHING

  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • 8 tablespoons (one stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 teaspoons instant espresso powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup of white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, Line an 8-inch square baking pan with foil or parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides. Spray with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, mix melted butter with brown sugar until smooth. Beat in egg, vanilla and instant espresso powder.

Add salt and flour. Mix until just combined. Add white chocolate chips and mix until evenly distributed in batter.

Pour into prepared pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until the middle is set. Do not over bake. Let cool on a rack for 15 minutes, then lift using the foil or paper and transfer the blondies to a rack to cool completely. Remove the foil or paper and cut into squares.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on April 25, 2011, in All About Greg, Books, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Those look delicious! I’ll have to make them for my next boat trip with friends. They always enjoy the sweet stuff. I love the new blog layout! Good job as always! :)

  2. Thanks Ali. I really appreciate the compliment. Have a terrific week.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

