ultimate chicken salad

Chicken salad, it’s one of my favorite things to enjoy for a quick-lunch or to entertain a group with. There are many great versions of this classic. I think that I’ve created a pretty amazing recipe. The sweet burst of the grapes, the tang of the cider vinegar and the bite of the shallot add a great flavor and texture. Nestled in a leaf of crisp bibb lettuce, or piled between two layers of buttery croissant, I hope you’ll enjoy this made by mike original.

Also, be sure to check out my suggested chicken-salad-making playlist. Who doesn’t need some great tunes to enjoy while cooking in the kitchen? It follows right after the recipe below.

Mike’s Ultimate Chicken Salad

  • 1 rotisserie chicken from your local grocery store
  • 1 small shallot, minced
  • 4 ounces of swiss cheese, diced
  • 1 cup of red seedless grapes, halved
  • 1 granny smith apple, diced
  • 1/4 cup of sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

Remove the breasts from the cooked rotisserie chicken. Remove the skin from the breasts. Cut the white meat into one inch chunks and add to a large mixing bowl. Reserve the dark meat for another recipe or make your dog very happy by adding it to his or her food bowl.

Add the shallot, swiss cheese, grapes, apple and almonds to the chicken. Toss gently.

In a small bowl whisk together the mayonnaise, cider vinegar, dijon mustard, salt and pepper. Pour over the chicken mixture and toss well. Refrigerate for at least an hour to allow the flavors to meld and get to know one another. If you can wait a day, it’s even better.  Best of luck with that.

Suggested playlist to make chicken salad to:

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. thickethouse says:

    This does sound wonderful! I think I’ll have to try it. The combination of textures and flavors sounds perfect, and chicken salad is something guests always seem to like.

  2. marty says:

    The pictures are just lovely and the recipe sounds great; I love to add fruit to my chicken salad, but never thought to add swiss cheese! Yum! Thanks for sharing!

    1. michael says:

      Thanks Marty. And I can think of very few things that a little cheese can’t improve. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  3. joanne says:

    just made these…oh my..dad went crazy. dressing is uber yummy! good job!

  4. Victoria says:

    Looks terrific! I think you might want to go over to the Taste of Home site and enter your recipe. It’s a food magazine with recipes submitted by home cooks. They have contests and recipe requests. I noticed they are looking for submissions for recipes using rotisserie chicken. 🙂 I think this would be an excellent submission.

Leave a Reply

