spring seedlings

Late last week I had the opportunity to escape from the curse of this very long winter. I spent some time at the Crown Point Ecology Center in Bath, Ohio. Greg and I are CSA members this year, and I’m doing some volunteer work on the center’s marketing committee. I wanted to get some photographs of the progress that Tim and Whitney are making on getting the plants ready for this Spring’s organic plant sale. As I walked through the warm greenhouse, I was excited to see all of the green. Including the tiny 3-week old artichoke plants. There were lots of lettuce, onions and grasses sprouting. I counted several varieties of thyme including orange, German and summer. The beginnings of great rosemary plants were also peaking just above the potting soil. If you are in the Akron area in May, be sure to mark your calendars for the plant sale. The organic plant sale is May 14 & 15, 9:00-4:00PM (Sat) 11:00-3:00PM (Sun). Last year I purchased several herbs, tomato plants and peppers.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter. It would mean the world to me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. oneordinaryday says:

    Oh, look at all that green! I cannot wait to see things start to grow again!

    1. michael says:

      It did amazing things for my soul that day.

  2. Judy says:

    When I am at Crown Point, all of the “stuff” crowding my head just melts away.

  3. Spring is the prettiest and most wonderful time of year. I love the new sprouting seedlings. You can see how you enjoyed your day.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

