5 days of sweets – dad’s ginger cookies

What’s the first food-related item that comes to mind when I think of Christmas? My Dad’s ginger cookies. He made them every year along with his sugar cut-out cookies. The scent of these cookies baking in the oven filled the house with the most pleasant spiced aroma. A few notes about the recipe. Depending on the size you make, they may need a minute or two more in the oven. You’ll know they’re done when the tops begin to puff and crack.

I’ve been working on our Christmas cards this past week. Each card is getting a recipe for these sweet treats inserted in them. If you’re not on our list, I’ve included the recipe below.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Ali says:

    Hi Mike! Yet another great recipe!! I plan on making this and including it with my Christmas cookies. I’m not the biggest shortening fan… but I won’t tell any of my friends it’s in there πŸ™‚ I look forward to your reviews and posts each week. Thanks for having a great site!

    1. michael says:

      Thanks Ali! I really appreciate your kind words.
      I’m not a big shortening fan either….I’m a butter kinda guy. But these cookies are so great, I hesitate to deviate from the recipe.

      1. Ali says:

        I’m actually a health fanatic. In a weird way, it’s probably a small reason why I enjoy your site so much. I salivate over each thing you make and wish to eat it! I’m best at making things, then having a taste or two and handing them to others so they can enjoy! Ha… my friends don’t complain.

        Happy December! I’ll keep posting and reading πŸ™‚

  2. Great idea! I’m definitely putting my favorite cookie recipe into my Christmas cards! Thanks Mike!

  3. Nicki says:

    Note to self… don’t read Mike’s blog on an empty stomach. Thats a fabulous idea about inserting a recipe. I have many family recipes that probably were never filtered through the extended family.

  4. Carolyn says:

    I love ginger flavour of any kind these look great.

  5. What a great idea for your Christmas cards!
    My mother-in-law makes gingersnaps using shortening and I make them with butter and my version is pretty awesome. You should try it once with butter. You’ll see.

  6. lesley says:

    Thanks for sharing your Dad’s recipe Mike. I made these today they are delicious and will become one of my Christmas regulars. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

