slow-cooker bacon jam – everyday food challenge

I have an important introduction to make. That, up there in the photo, is slow-cooker bacon jam. Intrigued? I was. You see, I love all things bacon. Well except for canadian bacon, that’s just ham with really good public relations. The newest edition of Everyday Food, on news stands now, devotes an entire section to the crisp and smoky and delectable food that is bacon. There are recipes for bacon-wrapped chicken tenders, bacon pancakes, onion and bacon soup, maple-glazed bacon, bacon-wrapped potatoes, and the one recipe that stopped me in my food-ever-loving-tracks…slow-cooker bacon jam.

A day after receiving the issue, I swung past the grocery store on the way home from work to pick up the several items I needed to make this jarred treasure. A simple shopping list of bacon, yellow onions, garlic, cider vinegar, dark-brown sugar, maple syrup and cup of piping hot Dunkin Donuts coffee. When I make this again, and I will, it won’t be at 5 pm on a weeknight. This is surely a Saturday or Sunday project. After crisping up the bacon, sauteing the onions and garlic, and mixing in the rest of the ingredients, everything goes into an uncovered slow-cooker for four hours. A quick blitz in the food processor, then portioned into glass jars to cool on the counter followed by a visit to the fridge. The recipe took me about five hours all together.

I had some doubts about the final product when I gave it a taste while it was still warm. But after a night and a day in the fridge the flavors have mellowed a bit. The jam makes a great spread on crackers and bread or my favorite, a dip for crispy salty pretzels. It’ll last up to four weeks in the fridge. Well, probably not in our house.

If you’re looking for a unique way to get more bacon in your life. And let’s be honest, who isn’t? Give this recipe a shot.  So go out and get your very own issue of Everyday Food. This is one of their truly great issues.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Tom says:

    I am sure this is baconlicious! It reminds me something like hot pepper jelly that you mix with other ingredients. I think a good use for it would be to beat a cup of it with a 8 oz. block of cream cheese and make a dip just like you beat the hot pepper jelly dip with cream cheese.

    1. michael says:

      Wow Tom, that sounds like a great idea.

  2. heidi maxwell says:

    Can I make this without a food proccessor? I have a blender and a small chopper, could that work?

    1. michael says:

      I think that they might work, you’ll just have to do it in smaller batches. I’d probably try the blender first.

  3. Jen Hooie says:

    Ohhh…I was wondering about this one when I received EDF this month…I also have been eying the standing rib roast recipe but I am a bit intimidated 🙂

  4. Christine says:

    Hi Mike!
    I just picked up the Dec. 2010 issue this morning and was so excited to see the article dedicated entirely to bacon. I can’t wait to try some of those recipes and it’s good to know this one was a hit. If you have a Trader Joe’s near you, their Uncured Apple Smoked Bacon is out of this world.

    I discovered your blog back in June, I think… and was so excited to follow your EDF challenge and even do it myself since I have all the issues to date starting with issue #13. In any case, I never got my act together to even start the challenge. It’s great to see that you’ve kept up with your EDF challenge. Great job! 🙂 Maybe I’ll start fresh in January…. famous last words 😉

  5. theGIRL says:

    Wow, Mike! This is the best blog post of all time. I’m a major bacon fan, and your jam looks delicious, but it’s your writing that takes the cake on this one! Love this.

  6. Linda says:

    Sounds great! Is the actual recipe on this site somewhere?
    If so, I’m just plain not seeing it :). Thanks!

    1. michael says:

      I don’t think recipes from the current issue are on marthastewart.com. It normally takes a couple of months.

  7. azg says:

    Have you ever tried canning the jars to extend its shelf life?

Leave a Reply

