sausage and mushroom pasta gratin

In my effort to utilize the iPad in the kitchen I decided to make dinner earlier this week from a recipe from the Gourmet Live app. While Gourmet the magazine is gone, I kind of have to admit being quite smitten by their iPad app. You earn additional issues of the digital version of the magazine by exploring and reading articles in the app. Even better, the app is absolutely free. The frequent updates keep me coming back again and again.

The Sausage and Mushroom Pasta Gratin, is the first recipe that I’ve made from the app. It was terrific. How can you go wrong with browned sausage and mushrooms, pasta, melted cheese and a cream sauce? To borrow a phrase from Ina Garten, “How bad could that be?” An added bonus, no need to preheat the oven. Everything’s done on the stove top or under the broiler.

Usually there would be many more photos of the process of creating this delectable dish. Unfortunately the time change and the earlier darker hours don’t create a perfect photography setting like during the day when our kitchen is flooded with natural light. I guess it’s time to broach the subject of an in-house photo studio to Greg. Wish me luck.

What comfort food are you eating this fall?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. marty says:

    Pasta, for sure–I made some pumpkin gnocchi few weeks ago, and the ones I froze are calling to me: I think that’s dinner tomorrow with browned butter and sage, plus a salad w/lemony vinaigrette. Oh, and wine. Dry red. Bring it, November!

    1. michael says:

      That sounds great! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

