italian pot roast – everyday food challenge

My little Everyday Food Challenges marches on as I cook my way through every issue of Everyday Food Magazine. This week we land in issue #18, the 2004 Holiday Issue filled with lots of winter delights. I decided to revisit the Italian Pot Roast.  I made it back when the issue first arrived in mailbox. Do you remember what you were up to in 2004?

The recipe is a good one, though I think I learned an important lesson this time around. Get your beef roast at the butcher counter, not from the case. I don’t think I got a great roast this time. When the dish was done cooking in the slow cooker I still had a lot of fat and gristle to remove. Seemed like quite a waste. Well, actually it made our dog Tucker pretty happy for the evening. But as slow cooker recipes go, this one’s pretty straight forward. Brown the meat in a skillet, throw everything in the slow cooker and come back about 6 hours later. It also tastes even better the next day as left overs.

Be sure to check back on Thursday for a quick bonus recipe from this issue, Sweet & Spicy Almonds. A treat with a kick…

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on October 5, 2010, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

