everyday food challenge – southwestern skillet pie

This recipe for Southwestern Skillet Pie from issue 17 of Everyday Food Magazine combined a few of my favorite things, cooking with my cast iron skillet and finely mincing a bunch of garlic. To me there is no better aroma in the kitchen than the scent of freshly chopped garlic.

So you know how I announced that the Orecchiette with Sausage and Roasted Peppers was my favorite Everyday Food Magazine recipe? Well I think I found the close second place contender and another great fall recipe. You can sum up this recipe easily by describing it as chili with a cheesy biscuit topping.

The filling was easy enough to put together. Simply brown a pound of lean ground beef, add to that a chopped red bell pepper, garlic, a can of black beans and a jar of chunky mild salsa. Heat it through, make a very simply biscuit topping, and then throw it in a hot 450 degree oven for about 25 minutes.

I couldn’t find the recipe at marthastewart.com to share, here’s a link to another blog with a very similar recipe. for the Everyday Food version, add a half cup of shredded pepper jack cheese to the biscuit recipe.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m really kicking myself for not discovering EF until 2005. I clearly missed some great ideas in the earlier issues!

  2. Thanks for introducing me to this site and yours of course!

Leave a Reply

