orecchiette with sausage & roasted peppers – everyday food challenge

Cooler fall-like temperatures mean only one thing to me. Comfort food time. And this recipe for Orecchiette with Sausage and Roasted Peppers from issue #15 of Everyday Food Magazine hit the comfort food target with a bulls-eye.

Can I tell you a secret? I’m not a huge fan of peppers. And for that reason alone, I almost skipped this recipe. After all, it called for four of those shiny veggies. I knew that Greg was a fan of roasted peppers so I decided to give the recipe a whirl. If nothing else, there was still pasta and italian sausage. I could pick around the peppers if I had to. I didn’t. Roasting the peppers under the broiler for 20 minutes turned them into one of the sweetest and most delicious vegetable that I’ve ever tasted.

The roasting was easy enough. Slice the peppers into large flat pieces and char until mostly black. After a quick steam in a covered bowl, you come upon the task of removing the blackened skin. The magazine suggests using a paper towel to accomplish this task. Once the peppers had cooled enough, I just went after them with my fingers. It was much faster and easier.

While the fun orecchiette, a pasta from southern Italy named for its “tiny ear-like” shape, is boiling; you simply brown the italian sausage. Once browned, add the peppers to heat through then add everything all together in a large bowl. An additional sprinkling of parmesan on top and you have a hearty and delicious meal. After eating this a second night as left-overs, I can enthusiastically claim that this is my favorite Everyday Food magazine recipe.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Wow, this must be great if an EF connoisseur like yourself is declaring it your favorite!

  2. Cathy says:

    This looks so comforting. I am definitely going to make this for dinner.

  3. Kristi says:

    I bought all the ingredients for this delicious looking dish and am making it for supper tonight. Since you are “my” Julia Child of the cooking world I can hardly wait to taste it after your amazing critique of this beautiful pasta- Thanks for this awesome blog!

    1. michael says:

      Enjoy Kristi! Let me know how you like it.

  4. Kristi says:

    Everything you said about this dish was true- It was so delicious I already have it on the menu for Thanksgiving week ( when I will have company to cook for-for 5 days !) It was easy and so full of flavor. Everyone LOVED it! There were no leftovers : ( I will def. be doubling the recipe!

  5. Beth says:

    I make something very similar but with sliced andouille sausage instead of italian sausage. It is an oft requested meal around here!

Leave a Reply

