mini deep-dish pizzas

So you all know that I’ve been cooking my way through all of the issues of Everyday Food Magazine beginning with issue #1. I’ve worked through the first twelve issues and decided that today I’d post an Everyday Food Challenge Fast Forward.

Ever since I received the newest issue, #75, I’ve been wanting to try my hand at the Mini Deep-Dish Pizzas. It went pretty well.  I probably should have used a ball of real pizza dough rather than unroll the Pillsbury variety.  When stretching the dough out, it got rather thin.  But no worries, after they baked in the muffin tins in a screaming hot 450 degree oven for just 12 minutes, they came out perfect.  The crusts browned nicely and the cheese got all gooey.  My favorite part of the recipe was the pack of mini pepperoni that I found at the store.  They were perfect for these scaled-down italian delights. After you make these, you’ll never go back to those silly frozen pizza rolls.  The recipe is not on-line yet, so you’ll have to step away from your computer or smart phone and pick up a copy of Everyday Food magazine at your local news stand.  It’s totally worth it. There are a bunch of other great recipes inside like the Baked Gnocchi with Ricotta and Marinara, Cuban Red Beans and Rice, and a stunning Nectarine Upside-Down Cake.

Update:  Here’s the link to the mini-pizza recipe.  Thanks to blog reader Kath!

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on August 26, 2010, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Love the use of the muffin tins to create the pizzas! Cute and clever! :D

  2. Of course, the winner of a gift subscription to Everyday Food can simply consult her on copy. (Have I gloated enough yet?) You are an inspiration Mike. I see dinner tonight!

  3. Those look YUMMY!!!

  4. Thanks for posting about this recipe. I have a personal cheffing client who would love for me to make these as an afterschool snack for the kids.

  5. queenbeeeatsforaday

    This is by far one of the best things I’ve seen recently…definitely great for cooking with the kids, as others have mentioned. Also, who needs English Muffin pizzas when you can have these?!

  6. Oh, these are adorable and really look yummy. Can you post less appetizing pictures? It’s too hot to bake right now buy my mouth is watering.

  7. Totally loving this one. My kids would have a ball creating
    their own. : )

  1. Pingback: Presto Change-O! Can We Get an Amen for a Quick Pizza Roll « Recycled Frockery

  2. Pingback: Amy’s Notebook 09.15.10 | The Motherload

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

