jalapenos – everyday food challenge

Today’s Everyday Food Challenge brings two issues together just south of the border. I visited the downtown Akron Farmer’s Market on Friday and picked up a basket of jalapeno peppers for a recipe from issue #11 and found that I had purchased so many that I could also make a recipe from issue #73. So what was cooking in my kitchen this weekend? Empanadas and Stuffed Jalapenos. And it was my first time making each of them. First up, the empanadas. So you know how I always say how simple and quick these Everyday Food magazine recipes are? Well this one was a little more complicated. There was dough making involved. I took a bit of a short cut and made my dough in a food processor as opposed to by hand as the recipe instructed. I think that may have saved me several minutes. But then there’s the dough resting time, and the rolling out, then the stuffing, followed by the suggested freezing. I have to say, the final result was quite tasty. I also ended up with quite a bit of the filling left over. I plan adding it to some rice later this week for a quick spanish rice dinner.

While the empanada recipe was quite involved, the stuffed jalapenos were a breeze. After fried mozzarella sticks, jalapeno poppers are my favorite appetizer. Since these aren’t fried, this recipe is a lot better for you. And I suppose you could make them even healthier by using reduced fat cream cheese and cheddar. I didn’t, but you could. The most effort that you’ll put into this recipe is cutting and seeding the peppers. After that, it’s a quick 10 minutes in the oven. I added a few minutes of broiling time after the bake to get a bit more color and crust on the cheese.

Finally, congratulations to Sarah (aka theGIRL) for winning the contest from last week. Your cookbook is on its way. Sixteen comments and #16 was randomly picked the winner. If you didn’t win this time, stay tuned. I’m sure that there will be more give aways in the future.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Stef says:

    Your blog is fabulous! Thanks for the great posts- I started following b/c of the challenge, but I really enjoy wordless wed. and five senses posts as well. You should keep the everyday food challenge going past the first year!! Two of my favorite Martha recipes for summer produce are : Zucchini Lasagna http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/zucchini-lasagna and Corn Fritters: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/corn-fritters-with-maple-syrup

    1. michael says:

      Stef, that zucchini lasagna looks so great. Definately going to have to make that!

  2. Katie says:

    Those poppers look delish!!

  3. Greg says:

    The poppers were delicious! Please make them again… 🙂

  4. Vickie says:

    The poppers look wonderful, unfortanately my tummy can’t take the heat anymore.
    I do have a question for you. I am attending a Commitment Ceremony on Aug 28th and I am in charge of bringing a pasta salad for the reception of maybe 30 people. Margarita’s will be flowing freely. Any ideas for a good pasta salad I can make the day before, or morning of?

  5. Jessica says:

    I just got nearly 2 dozen petite peppers from my gardening father-in-law. Think I’ll use this stuffed jalapeno recipe to get them all used up. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

