cappuccino brownies – everyday food challenge

My partner Greg has declared this, the best brownie ever. And who am I to disagree?

This post marks my tenth week of my Everyday Food Challenge. Ten weeks and at least one recipe from each of the first ten issues of Everyday Food Magazine. It’s been a lot of fun and I’ve been very excited by all of the new followers to the blog, my facebook page, and twitter. But back to the Cappuccino Brownie for a moment. What I liked most about the recipe was the addition of several spices that really rounded out the flavor combination of the chocolate and espresso. These brownies really pack a kick. Don’t even get me started on the chewy fudge-like texture. And yes, fellow co-workers, these will make an appearance at work on Monday…while supplies last.

Last week I mentioned a special prize in honor of my tenth week with the challenge. Leave a comment below with the name of your favorite chocolate-centric dessert by Friday, August 13 at 5 pm Eastern-Time, I will randomly select one comment and send you a copy of Everyday Food: Fresh Flavor Fast. Sorry, contest open to United States residents only, one comment/entry per person.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on August 8, 2010, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Prizes!!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I’ve been following since the beginning (via the shout out at the EDF blog) and you have inspired me to dust off my back issues and see what I may have missed!

  2. Over from twitter and glad I did! Thought about making brownies today and now I’m making them tomorrow for sure.

    Gorgeous photo!

  3. I have been following your blog since the beginning of the challenge and I really enjoy it :) My fave chocolate recipe is my great grandmother’s mystery mocha cake ( unfortunately I don’t have a link to it). It’s super easy and if you serve it warm with icecream it is like a fudge brownie sundae :)

  4. I too have been following very closely all these yummy recipes- Your “Challenge” has defintely been a “win ” for me : )
    My favorite chocolate concotion was my mom’s home made fudge- I have never had any like it anywhere else – it was the creamiest, subtle yet powerful chocolate flavor I ever remember eating! Sadly she passed away 5 years ago and i searched everywhere for a recipe written down- no such luck! But I’ll always remember how hard it was to wait til it was cool enough to eat!!!

  5. A favorite chocolate dessert… That takes some thought to come up with just one. I would say a chocolate fudge cake with chocolate fudge frosting and plenty of dark chocolate shavings covering the icing.

  6. love the blog and your photography…keep up the good work! one of my favorite chocolate desserts is Martha’s double chocolate cookies. they are so good! http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/double-chocolate-cookies

  7. Those brownies look fabulous…dense and chewy. You’ve inspired me to look back at some of my old EDF magazines for ideas. My favorite chocolate dessert would have to be nutella banana crepes!

  8. Love EDF! I’d have to say my most favorite chocolate dessert is the rich, dense flourless chocolate cake. :) But I must say that Emily suddenly has me craving a nutella banana crepe!!

  9. Flourless chocolate cake!

  10. My grandmother’s peanut butter fudge. So good and nostalgic.

  11. I love your blog! It’s the only one I’ve been able to pay attention to and stick with.

    I love Chocolate Orgasms! (a particular frosted brownie)

  12. I feel there is no reason that a previous winner should not be included in this contest as well. By the way, just got my first issue! What to do with all these tomatoes and new ideas for school lunches – just what I needed. Thanks Mike and, of course, Martha!

  13. I found your blog via a link from another food blog I love (very similar to yours–but a little more irreverent) http://www.eatingcleveland.com/.

    My brother is a part-time chocolatier–he has studied chocolate for the last 10 years, traveling the world to sample, taste and learn. He makes amazing chocolate truffles, my two favorites are his Chai Truffle, and Salted Carmel Truffle. He sells them at his local farmer’s market in Maryland. Lucky for me, he delivers to me in Ohio several times a year!

    • Thanks for stopping by Emily. I really enjoy Mark’s blog. I had the opportunity to meet him last month. Great guy. Now, about those Salted Caramel Truffles….

  14. Found your blog on twitter. Love it. Fantastic pictures. I really love the idea of 5 senses. Great idea for reflection. My favorite chocolate dessert, if there could actually be a favorite would be my grandpa’s homemade fudge. It was incredible. Creamy without the grainy texture that happens if you make it too quick. I wish I could replicate.

  15. Kathryn Seitzinger

    my favorite chocolate-centric dessert that I make is creme de menthe brownies…I could eat the whole pan if I put my mind to it!

  16. Chocolate….how do I love thee? Let me count the ways….

    1) In cake form with chocolate icing (and a tall glass of milk)
    2) As ice cream with peanut butter topping
    3) Covering juicy strawberries
    4) Encapsulating raspberry filling

    And most of all…..

    5) Pure, solid dark chocolate.

    Yum.

  17. Normally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

