the giant skillet cookie

So what happens when you reveal to your co-workers that you baked something amazing the night prior, and yet arrived to work with nothing to share? You get “the look” and lots of “whys?”

You see after tasting a slice of  Martha Stewart’s Cookie of the Day, the Skillet-Baked Chocolate-Chip Cookie, Greg asked that I not take any to work. And I had to agree…this was too good to share. Particularly when it was still a little warm from the oven. I cursed the fact we had no vanilla ice cream to top it off. While the recipe calls for a cup and a half of chocolate morsels, I swapped out a half cup of them for caramel bits that I found at the store the other week. They added a lovely additional flavor and texture to the giant cookie. I was also a little scared of over baking the cookie.  Once the top looked cooked and golden, about 40 minutes, I took it out of the oven to cool. That left us with a slightly under baked interior that we enjoyed quite a bit. As it cooled it became quite chewy and wonderful.

Maybe next time co-workers….maybe next time.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tom says:

    This reminds me of a story from my 7th grade home economics class where one of the teams was supposed to make chocolate chip cookies. When they saw “1 1/4 cup flour” on the recipe, they interpreted it as one 1/4 cup flour. Needless to say, they didn’t end up with chocolate chip cookies so much as a sheetpan full of one cookie.

    I’m sure yours tasted WAY better. Looks great! 🙂

  2. Too good to share sounds like a must try recipe.

  3. Elle says:

    Oh my gosh–I have to make this. HAVE to. And it’s all your fault! It looks fabulous!

  4. Holly says:

    There used to be a restaurant (can’t remember which one now) that would serve a warm chocolate chip cookie in a skillet (small sized) with ice cream and chocolate sauce on top. It was evil and I still dream of it. I’ve made versions at home since, but they are never quite the same. Now I’m going to have to try this one and see how it turns out. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

