classic barbecue sauce

Our friends David and Marc were kind enough to walk Tucker while we were at the beach a few weeks ago. Tonight, we’re having them over for a thank you meal. Lately, I’ve been having a hankering for some barbecue chicken. I did a little research this morning and found a recipe from Everyday Food Magazine for Classic Barbecue Sauce. I dumped all the ingredients in the dutch oven and let the sauce simmer for a good two hours. The house smelled divine.

The last line of the recipe recommended seasoning the sauce to you liking by adding additional vinegar, salt and pepper.  I like my barbecue sauce on the sweet side and Greg prefers his a little tangy. I compromised by adding a couple of tablespoons of light brown sugar and a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. I think we’ve got a great result. But the true test will be the chicken later tonight.

Since the recipe makes about five and half cups of sauce, the magazine suggests freezing the extra in containers so that you always have some sauce on hand. If they like it, I’ve got some jarred for the boys to take home tonight.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

