hello summer, hello basil. i think i love you.

As I mentioned in my post yesterday. There has been pesto making at the Sterling-Derr homestead. As I was watering the herbs, veggies and flowers, I noticed an evil pesky beetle dining on one of my basil leaves. I guess I can’t fault the little guy, he knows a good thing. But I was going to make sure that I enjoyed some basil pesto before he and his friends decimate my crop.

The issue of Everyday Food magazine that I was cooking from for last week’s challenge actually featured a recipe for pesto. So I went to work and churned out two jars. One from my regular basil, and another made with my lemon basil.

I plan to incorporate the pesto into a delightfully vegetarian meal of pasta with potatoes and green beans. I’m sure the pesto will also be used as a spread on some sandwiches this weekend too.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

