lemon pie with pecan crumb crust

I’m back with the Issue #3 installment of my Everyday Food Challenge.  Last week the readers voted for me to make the Vegetable Lasagna. You’ll read about that tomorrow. For now, let’s deal with dessert first. One of the runners-up in the voting was the Lemon Pie with Pecan Crumb Crust. It was also the recipe that Greg was looking forward to the most. So, of course, I just had to make it.

Now I know that every time I do one of these Everyday Food Challenges, I say how simple the recipe was. Well, this was no exception. To save some time, you could use a store-bought graham cracker crust. But please don’t.  The ground toasted pecans add so much wonderful flavor to the buttery crust. You don’t want to miss out on this perfect crust married to the tart lemon filling.

Additionally, the editors of the magazine suggest adding a dollop of whipped cream to each wedge. We didn’t, we went for the straight-forward approach. If you enjoy a great key-lime pie, but can’t find key limes, raid the grocer’s produce section for three lemons and whip up this pie. You will not be disappointed.

So tell me, what’s your favorite lemon dessert? Tomorrow, I’ll present dinner’s main attraction and give you the chance to vote or what I whip up from Issue #4.

note by mike: I’ve searched all over the marthstewart.com web site and can’t find a link to this recipe. Perhaps, because it was a reader submitted recipe.

update by mike: Here’s a link to the same recipe.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. theGIRL says:

    My favorite lemon dessert is lemon soft serve ice cream. Hands down. The ice cream stand down the street from me makes the best…it’s sweeter than it is tart. Think Trix lemon, not lemonade lemon. 🙂

    I voted for the lemon pie, and I’m so bummed it’s not on the site! I’ll have to hunt down a copy of this issue of Everyday Food!

  2. Christine says:

    This looks great! I just loooove lemon desserts.

    … except it’s making me sad that I don’t have issues #1-12 on my shelf. 😦

  3. Carolyn says:

    I have made similar over the years but never with the pecans added, sounds and looks great.

  4. thehungrymum says:

    This looks gorge & v simple – yum.

  5. For latest news you have to visit world-wide-web and on internet I found this site as a
    finest site for latest updates.

Leave a Reply

