oven-baked risotto

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, it was nearly a tie in the voting for what I should cook from issue #2 of Everyday Food magazine. The delightful asparagus tart won by a single vote.  As promised, I also made the runner-up. And boy, am I glad I did. I’ve always been a little intimidated by the thought of making risotto. I love ordering it in restaurants, but all the attention the typical stove-top variety requires turned me off. After all, have you seen Hell’s Kitchen? Gordan Ramsay is always screaming and berating the contestants for their sub-standard risotto starters. Donkeys!

So one of the great things about doing this Everyday Food Challenge is that I get to go back and revisit issues of the magazine.  I’m finding recipes that I either forgot about, or missed completely. I’m puzzled why I didn’t jump on this oven-baked risotto recipe the moment I brought the issue inside from the mail box. At any rate, thanks to your votes, I made this amazing creation last night for dinner. Greg loved it, which is my truest measure of success. It was very simple.  A little work on the stove-top at the beginning, 25 minutes in the oven, then a few quick stir-ins. And in honor of another reality tv show I love, for the wine I used an italian Pinot Grigio. That’s for you Ramona.

If you’ve ever been intimidated by the process of making risotto, please try this recipe.  You won’t be disappointed. You’ll have a pot full of creamy divine goodness.

Don’t forget to vote for what I should cook from issue #3.  Click here to vote.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I can’t wait to try this it looks so much easier than traditional risotto.
    Thanks!

    1. michael says:

      Jen- So much easier. Let me know how you like it.

  2. Cathy says:

    Can’t wait to try this. I am also intimidated by all of the stirring required for a regular risotto, so this will definitely be a treat! Thanks Mike!!

  3. I may have to try this out, I always make my risotto on the stove, stirring continuously. This may save time. Thanks

Leave a Reply

