the biscuits, oh my goodness, the biscuits

First, have you noticed? I’m back to blogging on a more regular basis. Have I become too self-indulgent? Probably, but you’re the one reading it right now.  And, I appreciate that. So, thank you.  I’ve gotten in the routine of getting home from work, making dinner, then sitting down to blog a bit. Then, with my handy-dandy blog platform, I can schedule the post to pop up at any time the next day. It’s like freakin’ magic.  But I know why you’re really here right now. It’s the title up there about the biscuits. I mentioned them briefly on Friday and promised to post all about them this weekend. Well consider this a promise kept.

I have exclaimed my love of the Smitten Kitchen blog in the past. It’s the blog that I always save for the very last, when I have a pile of rss feeds to get through. You see, I always know that I’ll be treated with a wonderful recipe and gorgeous photos of the process. That’s why I save it for last. It’s the final morsel of bloggy-goodness that I want to be able to savor and enjoy.

Now, you know that Dolly Parton/Whitney Houston song, I Will Always Love You? Well I think they might have been singing about these biscuits. Several weeks ago a recipe for Blue Cheese Scallion Drop Biscuits was featured on Smitten Kitchen. I love blue cheese.  As a dressing on salads, melted on top of burgers, and if we’re being honest, I like to eat the crumbles right out of the container with a spoon. There’s no shame in cheese adoration. I love blue cheese. Now scallions, I’m not such a huge fan. I can take them in moderation, but I can’t understand why they should ruin a perfectly good thing like a cheesy biscuit. So here’s where I went all crazy and changed the recipe just a tad. I omitted the offending scallions and substituted them with….are you sitting down?  The only food-related item I like more than blue cheese….BACON! Yup, I coarsely chopped up four thickly sliced pieces of applewood smoked bacon, crisped them up in a frying pan, drained them on a paper towel lined plate, and then folded them in to the biscuit batter. Hot and fresh out of the oven, these biscuits are not like anything you’ve ever tasted. They were like fluffy little pillows of savory cheesy and bacony nirvana.  Here’s the link to the original recipe on Smitten Kitchen. What’s you’re favorite biscuit recipe? Give it a shout out in the comments section.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on June 5, 2010, in Food & Drink, Weblogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

