don’t try this at home: pop-tart edition

So, I’m flipping through my new issue of Bon Appetit magazine this week and I come across a recipe that I had to make. Homemade “Pop-tarts”. I love a good pop-tart. A cherry iced pop-tart ranks right up there with a really  great steak, in my book. Ok, maybe not that high, but I do love them. Since starting the diet about a year ago, there have not been many occasions for pop-tart consumption. So I thought that if I was going to have one, a great homemade version was the way to go. What I really learned, was something that I always knew. I am, most certainly, not a pastry chef. I don’t have the patience to deal with making pastry dough and all the chilling and sticking to the board and rolling-pin that always happens. Not a fan. They did turn out quite delicious, even though I wasted a great of dough in the process. Let’s just say, I won’t be baking down this path again any day soon.

Leave a Reply

