37 things to do in the year before I turn 38

on

In about two weeks, I’ll turn 37.  I’m stealing (or is it borrowing) the following idea of a list from one my favorite bloggers. I’ll cross off items as I make progress through the list in the next year. There’s a tab up there towards the top of my blog where you can track my progress. Also, if you want to help out with any of these items, I’d be happy to have you join me on this journey.

37 things to do in the year before I turn 38:

  1. Get a passport and travel outside of the country, hey Canada counts!
  2. Make a bowl of lime jello. Completed on Sunday, December 20, 2009.
  3. Go for a walk in the rain with Greg.
  4. Experience public transportation.
  5. Hug a stranger.
  6. Drink more wine.
  7. Say “Yes” more. (This should be easier after doing #6)
  8. Make mozzarella cheese.
  9. Send greeting cards, just because.
  10. Stop at yellow traffic lights. What’s my hurry?
  11. Host a Sunday brunch get together.
  12. Enter a photograph in a contest.
  13. Donate money to NPR.
  14. Hike a new challenging trail.
  15. Make the bed every morning for a month.
  16. Try a new vegetable (suggestions?). I had a daikon radish at our department holiday party.
  17. Read an entire book in a day.
  18. Make a new friend.
  19. Go to a concert of a band I’ve never heard of.
  20. Have my nieces over for a weekend devoted to them.
  21. Learn yoga.
  22. Cancel one of my magazine subscriptions.
  23. Write a letter to the editor about an issue I care about.
  24. Volunteer.
  25. Share an afternoon lunch of pb&j with my sister.
  26. Find a beer that I can tolerate drinking.
  27. Weigh less than 200 pounds, even if it’s for just one day.
  28. Spend over $100 on dinner out for Greg and me.
  29. Attend a Sunday church service.
  30. Hold a baby.
  31. Pick apples at an orchard.
  32. Mend a relationship.
  33. Canoe.
  34. Spend a day exploring each of Ohio’s largest cities (Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton & Toledo)
  35. Attend a sporting event.
  36. Make Ina Garten’s Lemon Chicken with Croutons.
  37. Dance with Greg.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ryan says:

    I love this! I love this! I love this! And do you know why? It’s because it isn’t about some big monumental life goal, which are long term propositions and focus on them sometimes still the pleasure of enjoying the now. These all help you enjoy the now. The present.

    Mind if I borrow this idea?

    Did I mention – I love this?!

  2. michael says:

    Borrow away Ryan. But it’s unclear….do you love it? 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    Michael, you just continue to amaze me! I feel so honored that the girls and I made your list…it made little tears in my eyes. I know you will mark everything off your list…have fun and truly enjoy each one!

  4. Megan says:

    This is great!! I’ve realized lately that I need to be more adventurous. Will you help me come up with a list for me?

  5. Robin says:

    Mike, I think the perfect way for you to accomplish #1 is to plan a trip to Russia! With the potential of having to be there for 4 weeks, a visit from a friend would be a blessing! Love the list BTW!

Leave a Reply

