roasted tomatoes

roasted tomatoes

My first attempt at growing tomatoes has been an unqualified success. The plant has supplied us with mini romas for most of the summer. Finally today, I put the remaining bounty to the roasting test. Bathed with olive oil, salt and freshly ground pepper and roasted at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Towards the end of the roasting they were popping open and releasing some of their juices.  Juices, that when mixed with the olive oil, created a flavored oil that is just incredible.  I’m going to whisk the leftover oil into a vinaigrette for dressing salads. The roasted tomatoes, on the other hand, are going to be roughly chopped and added as a topping on homemade pizza tonight.  Last month, Everyday Food magazine featured pizza two ways. One, the roasted tomato with ricotta. The other, a thinly sliced potato with rosemary pizza. I’m sure there will be plenty for leftovers the rest of the week.

pizzaprebake

potatopizzadone

pizzaonboard

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    HOLY COW these look amazing!!! I want some!

  2. Patty says:

    I halved and roasted my tomatoes this weekend drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled with kosher salt, and a little garlic powder. I think this is my very favorite way to eat the very same tomatoes that I dislike raw. The ones that were blackened a little were out of this world! oh yes…very yummy indeed! Your pizzas look very tasty although I would never think to put sliced potatoes on pizza. How did it taste?

  3. michael says:

    The potato pizza was very good. I thinly sliced the potatoes with a food processor. It had really simple flavors with just olive oil, potatoes, rosemary, salt and pepper.

  4. mrpkw says:

    I prefer traditional pizza, but that does look interesting.

Leave a Reply

