perfect summer salad

on

finalbowl

I’ve been wanting to make Big City Chophouse’s Chicken Caprese Salad for some time now.  Sadly, It’s no longer on the menu.  My friend Sarah and I would get it when we met there for lunch. I think I got it right tonight. I started with locally grown yellow and red tomatoes, grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella cheese, roasted asparagus and basil just picked from my garden.  I dressed the salad with a simple homemade lemon vinaigrette and a splash of aged balsamic vinegar. It was wonderful and a great way to end a Monday off from work.  Even better with a glass of buttery Chardonnay, thanks for leaving half a bottle Michele. I’m now ready for what the rest of the week has in for me.

bowltomatoes

theparts

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Robyn V. says:

    OMG! They took it off the menu?!?! Why? It was a work of art! Did you write down the recipe? I could probably figure it out on my own but I’ve never made lemon vinaigrette. I have a delectable black currant balsamic that is delicious on caprese salad, though.

  2. Michele says:

    Had to say buttery didn’t you … hmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

