this afternoon's farmer's market

on

singlestrawberry

Headed to the Thursday afternoon farmer’s market at Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens today on my way home from work. I found some wonderful items like freshly-picked local strawberries. Not the giant ones from California that you find at the grocery store; these are like smaller sweet ruby jewels. I’m going to pair these tonight for dessert with the freshly-baked croissants that I found at the booth just down from the berries. I also picked up some lovely yellow squash and locally produced chive and garlic goat cheese. That was my pick from her selection of nearly a dozen varieties. We slathered the goat cheese on our baked potatoes at dinner. It was incredibly tasty. Oh, and how do you like my new $8 bamboo cutting board? I thought that was a pretty good deal. Too bad that I’ve already stained it from slicing the juicy strawberries. If you have a tip on getting that stain out of the wood, please comment below.

squash

strawberries

croissants

Leave a Reply

