the cookies are everywhere

on

pbjfinal

It’s that time of year again…the cookies have arrived from the girl scouts. You remember, those cookies you ordered a month or two ago. Those cookies that you planned to freeze, yes, that’s why you bought four boxes of thin mints…to freeze them so you could enjoy them for many more months to come. But they’re gone now, aren’t they? You ate every last one. Well, that’s a little glimpse into my cookie inner-monologue. Insightful, huh? Yup, bought a lot of cookies. I had three dealers this year, that’s kind of embarrassing. At any rate, I didn’t eat them all myself. I left several boxes at work for co-workers and I served some at my condo association board meeting. At first, it felt weird to serve prepacked cookies to guests, but after a long day at work, you get over these types of things.

Well today, I had the day off. This morning the carpet cleaners stopped by to de-Tucker our carpet. We’ll see how long that lasts. I ran errands after that, came home and decided to make some cookies. I was torn, I really wanted to make my mini-cheesecakes with oreo cookie crust, but then I came across a recipe for peanut butter and jelly cookies. How could I resist? I loves me some peanut butter and jelly. Perhaps not as much as my sister Julie, who has a pb&j sandwich for lunch nearly every day. I bet she’d like these cookies too. Anywho, here’s the recipe if you want it. It’s from Rachael Ray…you can practically hear her screaming in the background as you make them. That girl has lost all volume control on her talk show…it’s nearly unwatchable…and yet I still watch from time to time.

A tray of cookies ready for the oven.
A tray of cookies ready for the oven.
I normally strive for perfection, but I find that little extra drop of strawberry jelly quite charming.
I normally strive for perfection, but I find that little extra drop of strawberry jelly charming.
Cooling cookies, just before being streaked with peanut butter icing.
Cooling cookies, just before being streaked with peanut butter icing.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    Ok so tell me … did you eat my cookies 😉

  2. michael says:

    No, they are in my car. Waiting to be given to you.

Leave a Reply

