what the blog? – updated with more photos

on

meatballs

I’m not sure, but I think that my blog is becoming a food blog. That certainly wasn’t my intention. But during winter it seems that when I’m not at work, I’m cooking or baking. So maybe I just have a seasonal food blog. Just look over at my category cloud…Food and Drink is one of the biggest categories.

At any rate, I’m sure many of you are constantly asking yourself, “hey, it’s Saturday, I wonder what Mike’s doing?” Well our DVR goes into over-drive on Saturdays, recording a mountain of cooking shows on Food Network and PBS. Some of my favorite include the Barefoot Contessa, America’s Test Kitchen, Nigella Express, Everyday Food, Tyler’s Ultimate (he’s my tv chef crush) and Secrets of a Restaurant Chef.

This past Saturday, Ina Garten of the Barefoot Contessa, made Italian Wedding Soup with chicken meatballs for her 40th wedding anniversary dinner. The soup looked wonderful, and I decided that today would be the perfect day to make it for dinner. To save time later tonight, I made the chicken meatballs this morning. That’s a picture of them up there. They are tiny and crispy and I can’t wait to add them to the soup later tonight. I’ll try to remember to post a picture of a bowl of the soup before it’s all gone.

carrots, celery and onion.
Many great soups begin with these three basics: carrots, celery and onion.
The incerdibly tasty chicken meatballs. Made with ground chicken, sweet italian chicken sausage, grated romano, parmesan and asiago cheese, panko bread crumbs, garlic, egg, milk and fresh parsely.
The incredibly tasty chicken meatballs. Made with ground chicken, sweet italian chicken sausage, grated romano, parmesan and asiago cheese, panko bread crumbs, garlic, egg, milk and fresh parsely.
The final product. It all comes together in the last few minutes with the addition of the pasta, fresh dill and parsely. I, of course, also just had to add a sprinkling of cheese just before serving. How bad could that be?
The final product. It all comes together in the last few minutes with the addition of the pasta, fresh dill and baby spinach. I, of course, just had to add a sprinkling of cheese just before serving. How bad could that be?
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    yummo!!

  2. Ryan says:

    So, how was it? Typically you comment on if it was good. So, what did you think? It looks fantastic!

    Ryan

  3. michael says:

    Ryan, the soup was really great.

  4. Cecilia Fasano says:

    FAB U LOUS!! I think what you are doing (cooking beautifully) is the perfect antidote for these trying times. I feel nourished just READING about it!

Leave a Reply

