my 36th birthday

on

DSC03779_2

We celebrated by birthday last night at Bricco in downtown Akron with a small group of friends. It was a really fun evening.

Major props go to Greg for surprising me with my gift this year. You see, I'm a bit of a snoop. Greg devised an elaborate scheme that the C.I.A. would be proud of to keep me off his gift giving trail. It's no secret that I've been wanting a new camera.  Greg, my C.F.O., had me under the impression that I needed to save my money for a new camera, then when the tax refunds came in early '09 he would get me a new camera. In the mean time, I had been doing a little camera research. A couple of weeks ago at work, Patty mentioned a camera that she was checking out. It sounded like just what I was looking for. Little did I know that Greg was doing his own research and had actually ordered that exact camera several weeks earlier. He had it shipped to David and Marc's house and quickly changed our on-line banking passwords so that I couldn't see the purchase. Oh the trickery. It's a good thing that he changed the password and that I give up easily. One morning I tried to log on, and couldn't. Greg said that he was able to get on, but was booted off pretty quickly. Eventually, I just  gave up trying to log-on. His secret was safe. So at the restaurant, Greg had me open his "gift" first. It was in a gift card box, the gift card had the following printed on it, "OK, that was fun. Now, please open my actual gift that David and Marc were nice enough to bring with them…" And then, there it was my new Canon Powershot SX10 IS.

I'm so fortunate to have great friends that were in on the surprise and shared such a fun night with me. After dinner, we all braved the pouring rain and went to Michele's to partake in the beeritas and play a game of Apples to Apples and some Wii Rock Band…that was something…Michele really rocks the guitar, Marc, Greg and David are great on the drums (loved the spins Marc) and Megan and I rocked the vocals. Fun, Fun, Fun.

Off to get a memory card and case for the new camera this morning. We've got friends coming over for a movie night tonight. Today also marks our 8th anniversary. It's no secret that I think Greg is the greatest guy. I couldn't ask for more in a partner. He loves me and my quirkiness. On top of that, he gives the best hugs. These eight years have flown by, I'm looking forward to the many more years ahead.

Here are a few more pictures from dinner.

DSC03777_2

DSC03778_2

DSC03788

Leave a Reply

