Happy New Year and the Best From Last Year

meringuefinal

Just a quick note to wish you all a very happy and prosperous New Year.

This post about Orange-Vanilla Meringue Swirls was my most visited from last year. To be honest, it was one of the favorite things I made last year, too.

A little sweet, a little crispy and a little chewy. These Orange-Vanilla Meringue Swirls are a perfect little treat. It’s amazing what a few great ingredients can become when combined with simple techniques.They taste almost like one of those delightful orange creamsicles.

Featured in the May issue of Martha Stewart Living, I’ve been looking forward to making these meringues for weeks. But first, I needed to find a half-inch plain pastry tip. After searching many stores, I had to settle for a half-inch star tip. And to be honest, I kind of prefer the look of the meringues with the decorative ridges.

The recipe calls for half of a vanilla bean’s seeds. I threw the other half and the seeded bean into the jar where I’m making homemade vanilla extract. I’m still about a month or so away from it being ready. More on that in another post, on another day.

Finally, I love the design left on the parchment paper after I removed the baked meringues. I’m thinking about framing the design. You can see a portion of the meringue imprint in the lower left image of the collage below.

Orange-Vanilla Meringue SwirlsMartha Stewart Living, May 2012

  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, seeds scraped
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • Large pinch of salt
  • Large pinch of cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated orange zest
  • Gel-paste food color, orange

Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Place egg whites in a heatproof mixing bowl. Add vanilla seeds and sugar, and whisk by hand to combine. Set bowl over a pot of simmering water, and whisk constantly until sugar dissolves and mixture is warm, about 3 minutes. Add salt and cream of tartar.

Beat with a mixer on medium-high speed until stiff, glossy peaks form and meringue is mostly cooled, about 7 minutes. Beat in orange zest.

Using a small paintbrush, paint 3 vertical stripes of food coloring inside the pastry bag fitted with a half-inch tip. Fill bag with meringue, and pipe 1 3/4-inch circular shapes 2 inches apart on 2 parchment-lined baking sheets.

Bake meringues until crisp on the outside but still soft on the inside, about 75 minutes. (I baked mine an additional 15 minutes.) Let cool completely on a wire rack.

meringue

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on January 1, 2013, in Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Way Back Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I wish I could bake like you! Those meringues are perfection!

    And Happy New Year! Looking forward to following your adventures in 2013!

  2. I wanted to make these for Christmas…red swirls. Didn’t happen :(. You did a lovely job on these…very pretty!

  3. wow! those meringues look so fun! love them!

  4. How did I ever miss these. So beautiful!

  5. Mmm, so pretty too! I made peppermint ones this year. I couldn’t get the egg whites to meringue for anything and ended up using the Wilton meringue, lol Kudos to you for a fine job!

  6. Happy New Year!! That should have been the most popular post – they’re beautiful.

  7. Happy New Year :-) These meringues are so gorgeous! The prettiest I’ve ever seen.

  8. Happy New Year Mike! These meringues look amazing and so perfect! :)

  9. If I made these, I would not have time to take a picture before they are all gone! — And now, A NOTE: A while back, I received the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. While I acknowledged the award, I failed to notify the bloggers I selected to be the next recipients. Please accept my apology and the overdue award. You can find acceptance rules (if you choose to participate) at the bottom of the February 16 special edition of my Weekend Highlights (at Granny’s Parlour), which will feature the 15 award recipients I have selected. Thank you for being part of this blogosphere!

  10. Hello, your meringue swirls really great ! I nominated you for Super Sweet Blogging Award ! Please if you care to check the rules at my blog : http://ninikbecker.wordpress.com

  11. Oh! So beautiful!

  1. Pingback: Weekend Highlights – Special Edition – February 16, 2013 « Granny's Parlour

  2. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award | EAT LOVER

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

