Maple Pumpkin Granola

If you’re a long-time follower of the blog, you know that I have a thing for granola. Well, homemade granola, that is. To be honest, I don’t know why people buy it in the store. It’s insanely easy to make, I think even Greg could rock a batch. Remember his guest post? The other benefit. Your house will smell so good while the granola is baking and crisping up in your oven.

I had extra pumpkin puree left from a previous recipe, so I was super excited when I came across the original recipe from The Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook. I doubled up the recipe (this stuff is great, you’ll want to make a double batch, too) and swapped out their suggested nuts and seeds for pumpkin seeds, sliced almonds and sunflower seeds.

It’s not a terribly sweet  granola, it’s just right and the pumpkin flavor is more subtle than you’d think. Enjoy.

Maple Pumpkin Granolaadapted from The Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook

  • 5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2/3 cup good-quality maple syrup
  • 4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 325°F.

In a large bowl, whisk together olive oil, salt, pumpkin pie spice, pumpkin puree and maple syrup. Add in the oats, pumpkin seeds, almonds, and sunflower seeds and stir until well combined.

Divide the granola between two large rimmed baking sheets. Bake for about 40 minutes, stirring the granola every 10 minutes. The granola is done when its dry and golden-brown.

Allow granola to cool on baking sheets. Add the dried cranberries, a half cup to each baking sheet. Store in an airtight container.

 

 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in All About Greg, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’ve been thinking about granola lately. I even bought extra oats a couple of weeks ago so I could make some, without depleting my stash of oats for making breakfast oatmeal. Might have to take your recipe for a whirl. Thanks! By the way, gorgeous pics too! I love the effect of the granola spilling out of the bowl. I am such a neatnik, I never think of staging something like that, but it looks so cool! Beautiful post!

  2. i need that in my life! Mmmm, mmmmm!

  3. Yummy, yummy! I am a sucker for anything pumpkin!

  4. I made this (with a few modifications) for my wife’s birthday breakfast surprise yogurt parfait(s) & she said that it’s the best granola we’ve made. :) Thanks so much for such a timely & yummy post!

  5. It is the season to pull out the granola recipes!

  6. Wow! Just saw this. I love the use of pumpkin puree. I never would have thought to use it in granola. I can’t wait to try it.

  7. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely loved every little bit
    of it. I have got you book-marked to check out new
    things you post…

  8. ミュウミュウ が、ファッション ちょうど約すべてのため 状況 から離れて おそらく は
    非常に 公式。 それがすることができます 決して 方法 多くすぎる 遅く 件中表示 は 長い
    脚。私は、大規模な ファン ミュウミュウ の 時代を超越した サンダンス II と 品揃え いくつか バリエーション。 絶対に誰も
    したい テスト ミュウミュウ のバッグのペア。

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

