Foodie Pen Pal – September Edition

Just like the last two months, the mailman dropped off a box of goodies. This time from Tracy.  I’ve been participating in the very fun Foodie Pen Pal program. And you can too. Details are at the end of the post.

Back to my haul. You’ll notice, perhaps from the photo, that several of those bags look a little flat. That’s through no fault of Tracy. Well actually it kind of is. She packed some great treats that I couldn’t resist tearing into before I got my camera out for the group shot.

Those Yukon Gold tater chips over on the right….amazing. I love the caramel bits, they are going into some cookies soon. So are the cinnamon chips. I’ve never used them before, but they sounds perfect as a mix-in in some holiday cookies.  More local honey to add to my collection, this cute little honey bear bottle comes from Oklahoma. I told Tracy that I loved candy, and she certainly didn’t disappoint with the “awesome twosome” Jolly Rancher chews. Finally, and I give her a lot of credit for this, she steered me back to a healthy snack with the Special K cracker chips. What? A cracker and a chip all in one? I’m on board with that.

I sent my Foodie Pen Pal package to Leila, she’s a kindred spirit in Skittle love.

Interested in joining the program? Here’s how:

And now it’s time for some details about Foodie Penpals.  In case you’re a new reader, here’s a reminder of what the program is all about:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

If you’re interested in participating for October, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Food & Drink, Foodie Penpal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing this…this is so cool! Just signed up! Can’t wait for my first package!

  2. Sweet Spell Baking Chick

    I got a great package this month too!

  3. How fun! I went to check out the box you sent to Leila, and it’s filled with amazing looking goodies! I can’t believe all of that was under $15!

  4. This was my first month and I LOVE everything about it.

    Thanks for sharing! Looks like you hit the jackpot :)

  5. I’m glad you liked your box. You were a lot of fun shopping for.

  6. In whatever currency, select from cheap giveaways, medium priced desk top reminders or high-end bespoke gift sets.

    With all fundraising ideas it should become the perfect goal to increase sales and profits.
    Ask them should you can visit their workplace whilst keeping your ears open for your
    type of reaction you get.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

