Beef Bourguignon – Way Back Wednesday

Today marks Julia Child’s 100th birthday. To celebrate, I’ve gone back in my archives to February 2010 to reintroduce you to the Everyday Food magazine version of her classic Beef Bourguignon.

I’ve wanted to make this since seeing Julie & Julia. A pretty easy version was recently featured on the PBS series Everyday Food and then in the most recent edition of Everyday Food’s magazine. If you don’t subscribe, you need to.  You really do.  Go. Subscribe now. There’s no time to waste. It’s seriously one of the best mail-days of the month when this little digest of recipes from Martha arrives in the mailbox. I rush inside the house, settle down at the kitchen table and plan my attack on churning out the easy and tasty recipes featured inside. This one was a winner and the perfect Sunday/Valentine’s Day meal to share with that special someone you adore. So what if the prep for the meal took nearly an hour. The additional three hours it braised in the oven made for one of the most tender and flavorful beef recipes I’ve ever had. Here’s the recipe.

Also, Tiffany over at Domesticated Academic, is giving away a copy of Julia’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.  You should jump on over there and enter to win it.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Way Back Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. this is my fave recipe of hers! love making it! i’m giving away one of her cookbooks today!

  2. Terrific classic recipe. Thanks for the memory.

  3. Such a wonderful recipe, I have made it for parties or just for my little family, it makes everyone happy…just like Julia :) thank you dear for sharing with us <3

  4. I love your blog!!! This recipe remind me of my mum, I can smell it right now, I should try it one of these days!!! ( I am from Burgundy ^^ )

  5. What a wonderful recipe to celebrate Julia Child’s birthday! Would you believe that I have never made this particular recipe for Beef Bourguignon? I think I need to remedy that! ;)

  6. I loved that film and was also inspired to cook this recipe, it was delicious!

  7. Greetings Mr Mike. How are you? I was looking for entries about Julia child for this weekend’s review at Granny’s Parlour and am glad to have found yours. I like how you offer resources to your readers. It is an entirely different and very thoughtful approach to honoring that great and fascinating woman. Thank you. Did you watch Julia and julia again to celebrate?

  8. I remember that part of the movie. It was great fun to celebrate her but I’m going to have to wait until winter to make a dish like this one.

  9. Excellent movie, excellent tribute….excellent job! I have made a similar dish…and will now have to make this one.

  10. I made this about the same time as tribute. I effing love it.

  1. Pingback: Weekend Highlights – Special Edition – Dear Julia – August 18, 2012 « Granny's Parlour

  2. Pingback: Weekend Highlights – Special Edition – Dear Julia – August 18, 2012 | Canning Jars Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

