Rocky Road Brownies

News flash! While celebrating Marshmallow Week, I think I’ve found the perfect brownie recipe. The brownie layer at the base of these Rocky Road Brownies is amazing. It’s a from-scratch-recipe that only used one bowl to come together. That fact alone, would make these brownies great. They’re a dense, rich and fudgy brownie. Baked for 35 minutes, then topped with chocolate chips, mini marshmallows and pecans. Back in the oven for 5 minutes more. Just long enough to puff the marshmallows and gently toast the nuts.

Rocky Road BrowniesEveryday Food, June 2008

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces, plus more for pan
  • 1 bag (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup miniature marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8-inch square baking pan. Line bottom of pan with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides; butter paper.

In a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, combine butter and 1 cup chocolate chips. Heat, stirring occasionally, until just melted, 3 to 5 minutes.

Remove mixture from heat, stir in both sugars and salt, then eggs, and finally flour, stirring until just combined. Spread batter in prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes.

Remove from oven, immediately sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips, then marshmallows and nuts. Bake until chocolate is shiny and marshmallows are puffed, about 5 minutes. Cool completely in pan. Using paper overhang, lift brownies onto a work surface and cut into 16 pieces.

 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Marshmallow Week, Martha Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. lovely and yummy brownies ^^

  2. i’m loving this! i modified to use a box mix for a dish to pass w/ friends later today. thanks!

  3. They look lovely. I’ve been trying to get some American cup measures (apparently British cub sizes aren’t quite the same size), I’ll have to try harder so I can make these. I love your little white plates as well :)

  4. Mmmm, mmmm! They look so yummy! Think I’ll have to give them a go.

  5. These look delicious! I’m going to have to make them. Thanks for the like on my post today, I ‘m loving reading your blog!

  6. Hi Mike. I once made these. And they are delicious but such a pain to cut. The marshmallows got all over my knife. How did you cut yours so perfectly ? Any tips?? Thanks.
    -haz

  7. Practically drooling!

  8. Hi there! I nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger award. Go here to check it out:

    http://blogwhatyoueat.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    (Also the brownies look awesome!)

  9. I love rocky road! It used to be my favourite ice cream when I was a kid. These look delicious! :)

  10. Mike, this recipe is definitely my favourite so far in the marshmallow series. For having such a kick ass blog, I’ve nominated you for the Blog on Fire award (although it’s not the first blog award you’ve been nominated for as I see from the comment above!). Check it out: http://gottagetbaked.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/blog-on-fire-award/

  11. I need these brownies in my life. They look amazing! Anyways, just wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog, and as such I’ve nominated it for the Blog on Fire award. You can check it out here: http://manderleycooks.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/excitement-and-a-departure-from-lemon/

  12. thx for stopping by. lovely and great photos!!! :)

  13. Hi , i think your blog is great ! I nominated you for One Lovely Blog Award. Congratulation !

  14. Definitely a crowd pleaser! These will be great for my next potluck.

  15. Hi there! I’m dropping a line to each of my followers to let everyone know that as of tonight my blog will be located at http://www.thesimplesongbird.com. I hope you’ll join me over there!

  16. My sisters would love love love this recipe. I don’t bake with dark chocolate because of allergies, but my sisters live on chocolate :)

  1. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award. « KatsHealthCorner

  2. Pingback: Rocky road brownies | Tasty, beautiful, fun!

  3. Pingback: The Road Less Travelled « Haz's Random Musings

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

