S’mores Cookies

I’ve been eager to post these cookies for over a week. They were very well received at a work party. But sometimes life just gets in the way. Like a freak July 4th hail storm that shattered most of the windows on the back of our house. The storm also decimated my flowers and tomato plants.

But life goes on, and what better way to move forward than with sweet delicious summer treats? And while I was thinking about these terrific S’mores Cookies from Everyday Food magazine, I decided to go full-marshmallow on you  this week.  That’s right, each day will feature a recipe that celebrates the humble marshmallow. I hope you enjoy the week.

Back to the cookie. These are pretty simple. I probably should have pulsed the rolled oats a bit finer, but I enjoyed the texture that they brought to the soft graham cracker-inspired cookie. Keep a close eye on your marshmallows under the broiler. I needed to move my baking sheets around to get an even browning on all of the marshmallows.

S’mores CookiesEveryday Food, July/August 2009

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup light-brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 8 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, cut into 30 squares
  • 15 large marshmallows, halved horizontally

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, pulse oats until finely ground. Add both flours, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt; pulse to combine. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg, scraping down the side of the bowl as needed. With mixer on low, beat in flour mixture until just combined.

Drop dough by tablespoons, 1-inch apart, onto two parchment lined baking sheets. Top each with a chocolate square. Bake until just lightly golden, 11 to 13 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through. Remove sheets from oven, heat the broiler. Top each cookie with a marshmallow half, cut side down. One sheet at a time, broil until marshmallows are lightly browned, 60 to 90 seconds. Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on July 8, 2012, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Marshmallow Week, Martha Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Those look amazing! I’ll definitely have to try those sometime soon. Also, thanks for the follow!

  2. Love this recipe, thanks for sharing, I can’t wait to try them, Love S’mores

  3. A hail storm that broke windows? That’s some storm! Love your attitude though. When life gets tough, bake cookies. These look luscious!

  4. wow this looks perfectly decadent!! hope that your house repairs are going well!

  5. S’mores are my ultimate weakness…and these looks pretty darn delicious :)

    Here are my favorite s’mores recipes…http://inherchucks.com/2011/10/18/want-smore/ and http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/19/smores-rice-krispie-treats/.

  6. Mike, these look amazing!
    We don’t have these types of cookies in Australia, so I’ll be keen to try out your recipe. Thanks for sharing :)

  7. These look sooo good. I love toasted marshmallows, and I definitely love s’mores! I’m surprised that the chocolate didn’t just melt into a gooey mess while baking though

  8. Hey Mike, sorry to hear about the storm and the havoc it wreaked! I love that you comforted yourself by baking up these AH-MAZING cookies! I’ve need to try these asap!

  9. We love all things S’more! Looks delish!!

  10. These look fantastic! Can I pretend they are healthy since they have whole wheat and oats in them?

  11. I don’t know whether I’d be more upset about the windows, or my plants. These look fantastic. Mmm thinking about how good they’d taste alongside a glass of milk.

  12. Hi, thanks for posting such a cool recipe, I’ll be reposting it on my blog this week. I’ve already pinned it, I hope it brings you lots of new readers.

  13. wow, these look awesome! Are s’mores having a moment? I seem to be seeing them everywhere lately…cookies, bars, ice cream. Yum!

  14. We just made these and they are amazing! So much like s’mores! And yet so much better. Delicious!

  15. These look delicious. I love s’mores in general (who doesn’t) but having s’more cookies just makes them 10x better

  16. Those look delicious!

  1. Pingback: S’mores without the smoke « my sweet addiction

  2. Pingback: S’mores Cookies! « aphotofortoday

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

