Peach Buckle – Way Back Wednesday

A peachy delight from way back in September 2010.

Rustic and elegant. That’s how I’d describe this incredible Peach Buckle from issue #14 of Everyday Food Magazine.

First, it’s almost the perfect time of year to be using the sensationally seasonal peach. I have to say, this recipe made for a divinely moist cake. And the crunchy, cinnamon-sugar-almond topping was perfect. The magazine indicates that you can use a square baking pan, but if you have a cast-iron skillet, you should use it. It makes the presentation of the final product that much more special. I have a feeling that this is the first of many buckles to come.

Peach BuckleEveryday Food, November 2003

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened, plus more for pan
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 pounds peaches, pitted, peeled and cut into 1/2 inches pieces (4 cups)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Butter a 10-inch cast-iron skillet or 9-inch square baking pan. In a large bowl, cream butter and 3/4 cup sugar with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla; beat to combine.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. With mixer on low speed, add flour mixture to butter mixture; beat until incorporated. Fold in peaches.

Spread batter in prepared skillet or pan. In a small bowl, mix together remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, cinnamon and almonds. Sprinkle mixture over top; bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean the topping is golden, 45 – 50 minutes. Let cool 20 minutes before serving.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Way Back Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Perfect time for peaches indeed, and this buckle looks great!

  2. Wow! Does that look good! I love the look of the moist crumb. Delish.

    I agree that with peaches, cast-iron is the way to go!

  3. Buckle up! :) This looks terrific! You really made it look great in the skillet!

  4. Oh.my.goodness…i’ve got goosebumps. PEACHES!!!!!! I’ve never tried to do this in my cast iron skillet. This one will be on my blog when I try it. I’ll keep you posted. By the way, thank you for liking my strawberry shortcakes at http://thetechfoodie.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/strawberry-shortcakes. You are quite fast. I don’t think I had posted it more than 10 minutes and you’d already liked it. How did you do that? Great food photos. I am a bit lazy with my pics, but yours are beautiful.

  5. Oh my goodness, that looks amazing!

  6. Sweet peachy wonder, this looks amazing, and now I know what I’m making this weekend!!! Thanks so much for the follow, and the weekend baking inspiration!

  7. can’t wait to try this. my favorite cast iron cake so far has been david lebovitz’s upside downcake. no matter what fruit you use, its perfect. my favorite still is fresh pineapple.

  8. Yum! This looks great. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Looks very attractive cooked and served in the skillet.

  10. This looks like something I need to try! You can’t go wrong with peaches, cinnamon-sugar and almonds! Thanks for stopping by our blog earlier. :)

  11. I’m so glad I found your blog! Thank you for liking my bread post today. :) Looking forward to blogging with you!

  12. I made this once with pears, simply because I had some that I needed to use up. It was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

