Bacon Jam – Way Back Wednesday

And now, for something a little different. This week’s Way Back Wednesday features my most popular post from back in November 2010, Slow-Cooker Bacon Jam:

I have an important introduction to make. That, up there in the photo, is slow-cooker bacon jam. Intrigued? I was. You see, I love all things bacon. Well except for canadian bacon, that’s just ham with really good public relations. This edition of Everyday Food (December 2010), devotes an entire section to the crisp and smoky and delectable food that is bacon. There are recipes for bacon-wrapped chicken tenders, bacon pancakes, onion and bacon soup, maple-glazed bacon, bacon-wrapped potatoes, and the one recipe that stopped me in my food-ever-loving-tracks…slow-cooker bacon jam.

A day after receiving the issue, I swung past the grocery store on the way home from work to pick up the several items I needed to make this jarred treasure. A simple shopping list of bacon, yellow onions, garlic, cider vinegar, dark-brown sugar, maple syrup and cup of piping hot Dunkin Donuts coffee. When I make this again, and I will, it won’t be at 5 pm on a weeknight. This is surely a Saturday or Sunday project. After crisping up the bacon, sauteing the onions and garlic, and mixing in the rest of the ingredients, everything goes into an uncovered slow-cooker for four hours. A quick blitz in the food processor, then portioned into glass jars to cool on the counter followed by a visit to the fridge. The recipe took me about five hours all together.

I had some doubts about the final product when I gave it a taste while it was still warm. But after a night and a day in the fridge the flavors have mellowed a bit. The jam makes a great spread on crackers and bread or my favorite, a dip for crispy salty pretzels. It’ll last up to four weeks in the fridge. Well, probably not in our house.

If you’re looking for a unique way to get more bacon in your life. And let’s be honest, who isn’t? Give this recipe a shot.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Way Back Wednesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Want to try this! Any thoughts if you don’t have a slow cooker? They’re hard to come by in Spain!

  2. Wow! Bacon lovers dream, right there.

  3. i need to try to remember this for some homemade christmas gifts!

  4. OMG! now this is certainly something NEW I’ve just heard of … I truly must try this out … I love crackers so will be a great spread for my crackers …. and will be great for hubby’s sandwich for lunch when I’m running short of time ;-) .. thanks for sharing, Mike!

  5. How could I not love this? This looks incredible. I would smear it on everything!

    A friend gave me a jar of bacon jam a while ago, but I never thought about making my own. What a great idea.

  6. Thats livin large my friend. Don’t know how it’d fit into Weight Watchers but your writing is plenty witty, so enjoyed your post.

  7. Holy cow! This sounds amazing! I have to try this recipe…going to make it this weekend! Thanks!

  8. I have never seen anything like this before in the UK. I’ve checked the original recipe and see the coffee goes in it…I thought it was for you to drink! I’m going to make this and see how it goes down :)

  9. YOWZA! This is awesome. A co-worker brought some homemade bacon jam to work last year, and it was amazing. Looked very similar to this one. We started by trying it on crackers and some bread, but then ended up eating it off spoons. My mouth is literally watering thinking about it. Great post!

  10. Woweeeeee….that looks good! A good one to try soon…thanks for the share! Love your talent in the kitchen…will be following along for some more great recipes. :)

  11. What a great recipe! We are going to a dinner party this Friday, and our hosts are madly in love with all things bacon. This will be the perfect “thank you for inviting us” gift to give. Also, your posts are well-written and enjoyable to read. Great work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

