Blueberry Crumb Cake

As you may know, I’ve been baking, or is it drooling, through Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home to Yours. Last week I made these Chocolate Malted Whopper Cookies.

In an effort to bring you something other than a cookie (I know, there have been a lot of cookies lately) I present you with Dorie’s Blueberry Crumb Cake. It’s a great snack cake. And bonus, I had the needed blueberries already frozen in my freezer. The crumb topping is amazing. I was very fortunate that some of it crumbled and avalanched off the cake as I was cutting it up to take to work. Yup those crispy crumbs were my late morning treat. In fact, on their own, they might make an excellent breakfast cereal. What kinda cash do you get for pitching a new cereal idea to Kellog’s?

You can find the recipe here. Don’t skip the step of working the lemon zest into the sugar by hand. It was my favorite part of the morning while making this delicious cake.

So what should I make from Dorie’s book next? Please cast a vote below:

 

 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in Books, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh, I just love a good crumb cake and this one looks perfect! I have Dorie’s book, but I have only made a few things from it, all of them delicious. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of the choices you listed :D

  2. That’s a great looking cake (and I just bought a big container of blueberries tonight … hmmm ….). BTW, I love the plate; it would be a great addition to my collection of white dishes in all sizes and shapes! I cast my vote for French Lemon Cream Tart, but any of the choices sound tasty.

  3. I totally voted for the Chocolate Chocolate Chunk Muffins, but if you’re looking for another great Dorie recipe to try, I made her Baby Cakes and they blew my mind. Here’s the link. I highly recommend the addition of cacao nibs. Holy smokes! They totally rocked here. http://insidenanabreadshead.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/recipe-dories-baby-cakes/

    PS – love your blog, Mike!

  4. I love Dorie Greenspan too!

    This crumb cake looks fabulous. Just in time for blueberry season.

  5. Yum! I have made this one, but it’s been a long time. I might need to revisit it again soon!

  6. I’m a sucker for cakes I can eat for breakfast! These look so great! I’m bookmarking this recipe for sure!

  7. Made this from your blog this week, it was delicious. http://instagr.am/p/L0JxV5Ck0D/ Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

