Cappuccino Brownies – Way Back Wednesday

Welcome to the first Way Back Wednesday at Made by Mike. A new weekly feature where I spotlight a recipe and post from some time ago. I realized that I get new readers every day. Readers that may have missed all the fun we had way-back-when. To kick off the series I reintroduce you to the Cappuccino Brownie from Everyday Food magazine.  I originally wrote about this very special brownie back in August of 2010. Here’s the post:

My partner Greg has declared this, the best brownie ever. And who am I to disagree?

What I liked most about this recipe was the addition of several spices that really rounded out the flavor combination of the chocolate and espresso. These brownies really pack a kick. Don’t even get me started on the chewy fudge-like texture. Bake a batch today.

Cappuccino Brownies - Everyday Food, March 2004

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, plus more for pan
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon instant espresso powder
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Place rack in center of oven. Butter a 9-inch square baking pan, and line the bottom with parchment paper. Coat paper with butter, set aside.

In a large saucepan over very low heat, melt chocolate and butter together, stirring until completely melted. Let cool slightly. Whisk in sugar, espresso powder, vanilla and eggs.

in a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Add to the chocolate mixture, and stir until just combined. Don’t over mix. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour into prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out slightly wet, 30-35 minutes, Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on May 16, 2012, in All About Greg, Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff, Way Back Wednesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Now THAT looks like a brownie! Just the moistest, most decadent brownie ever. Yum!

  2. Thanks for following my blog! These brownies look absolutely delicious :)

  3. Oh my these look delicious! I haven’t made brownies in awhile and I think these will be the next ones I try. Yum!

  4. Thanks for liking my post and following my blog! These and the many other desserts on your blog look delicious! Chocolate is good, but I think chocolate and coffee flavoring together are even better.

  5. espresso powder and chocolate…definitely a match made in heaven! Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  6. These look sinful! Can’t wait to give them a try :)

  7. shut up. those look delicious!

  8. Wow, these look so good! I like the sound of the spices – I am quite a fan of chocolate and cinnamon together, I’m sure they would be go very well with the coffee too.

  9. They look dangerously delectable ….

  10. Oh my word. These look perfect.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

