chocolate caramels with sea salt

We’re going to keep this short, and well, sweet. After all, it is hump day for my 5 Days of Sweets.

I have a friend celebrating a birthday this week. I asked what she’d like me to make for her. Her response, “something chocolate.” Well, I can do that.  How can you go wrong with making a basic caramel base, stirring in cocoa powder, then topping the candies with a generous sprinkling of sea salt?

Chocolate Caramels with Sea Saltadapted from Food Network Magazine, December 2011

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups light corn syrup
  • 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt

Line an 8-inch square pan with parchment  paper or foil and coat with non-stick cooking spray. Melt butter in a large sauce pan, then add sugar, light corn syrup, sweetened condensed milk and cocoa powder. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally, until a candy thermometer reaches 248 degrees, about 15 minutes. Pour into prepared pan, sprinkle with sea salt while still warm. Cool completely, cut into 1-inch square pieces. Wrap in waxed paper squares.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in 5 Days of Sweets 2011, Food & Drink, Friends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Mike, we made these weekend from the food magaine pullout… Oh my god, I have never made candy and nowI don’t want to stop. I brought them to work tonight and everyone is gushing over them. I had to look up the recipe for the girl that said, “Salt on Caramel? Not so sure about this one.” One bite and she was in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

