peanut butter and cinnamon cookies

Truth be told, and why shouldn’t it be, I’m not such a fan of peanut butter. Maybe it’s a texture thing, I don’t know. It’s crazy, because I love peanuts. I could polish off one of those huge jars of Planter’s Roasted Peanuts during a single episode of Raising Hope.  And that’s giving me plenty of time to chuckle my way though the show. An aside, anyone else think that Cloris Leachman isn’t acting?

The person I love most in life, occasionally eats peanut butter by the spoonful. My lovely sister sits down to a daily lunch centered around a classic pb&j sandwich. Not me. And don’t even get me started on my dislike of the famed Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.

All that said, I was intrigued by this recipe for Peanut Butter and Cinnamon Cookies. And I’m very glad that I gave it a try.  The combination of peanut butter and cinnamon may sound strange, but the cinnamon really took the edge off the peanut butter for me. The two contrasting flavors make for a very subtle peanut butter cookie. I really couldn’t be more pleased. I think that even the peanut butter fanatics among us will approve.  Give them a try. They would be great for a holiday cookie exchange.

Peanut Butter & Cinnamon Cookiesadapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies App.

  •  1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Mix flour, 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

With a mixer, beat butter, 1/2 cup sugar, the brown sugar, peanut butter, egg and vanilla on medium speed until well blended. Gradually beat in the dry ingredients on low-speed until well mixed. Refrigerate dough for 2 hours or until firm.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix remaining 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon in a small bowl. Using a 1.5″ ice cream scoop, shape dough into balls. Roll in cinnamon-sugar mixture to coat. Place about 3 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Gently flatten each ball with a fork, pressing a crisscross pattern on the tops of the cookies.

Bake until lightly browned, 8 to 10 minutes. Cool on baking sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in All About Greg, Family, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. one ordinary day

    I can barely get over my shock to jot a comment here. You are bashing something near and dear to me! I was okay with it til you threw peanut butter cups under the bus. Gasp!
    Really? That’s just wrong.
    I’m glad Martha has brought you into the fold, at least a little bit. Though I just can’t wrap my brain around pb and cinnamon. :)

  2. Oh Michelle, I so hope that we can still be blog buddies. I’ll send you all the Reese’s Cups that come my way. Well, actually, you’ll have to fight Greg for them.

    As for the cookies, I had a hard time getting my brain around the peanut butter and cinnamon too. Trust me, somehow it all magically works out.

  3. I understand not liking peanut butter. I didn’t really like it until I had REAL peanut butter. You know, the stuff that’s made with only peanuts and salt. The other kind – the big, national brand kinds – we call “fake peanut butter” in our home. It doesn’t taste like peanuts, it has a weird too-smooth consistency and it is just, plain wrong.

    Real peanut butter… that I can (and do) eat by the spoonful.

  4. I think that the writers of the show just tell Cloris to do whatever she wants. The others just go with it. Its one of the best shows on right now.

  5. This is a recipe I think I’ll have to try. My brother-in-law doesn’t like peanut butter either so I wonder if he’ll like it any better with cinnamon. How about using this as the basis for peanut blossoms? Too much?

  6. Hi Trish. I’m not sure about using this recipe for peanut butter blossom cookies. The batter spreads a bit much and the cookies are thinner than the traditional blossom cookies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

