cookie cupcakes with raspberry fluff frosting

I’ve made these cupcakes twice since getting the latest issue of Everyday Food magazine.  There’s a terrific section on “Cakes for Every Pan.” My most favorite pan? The muffin tin, of course. Individual servings and no cutting required.

I first made the Cookie Cupcakes with Raspberry Fluff Frosting for my lovely friend Megan’s birthday.  They were received quite well. I ran out of time to get photos during that baking spree, so I made another batch this week. My co-workers are very lucky.

The original recipe indicated that it would make a dozen cupcakes. Once I had measured out the batter, I had enough for 18. Extra cupcakes! The Oreos, baked in the center of the cupcakes, moisten just slightly and end up being quite the surprise to unsuspecting eaters.

The few other changes to the recipe that I made revolved around the Raspberry Fluff Frosting. The first time I made the frosting, I used Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping found in the ice cream topping section of the grocery store. It’s really runny and just didn’t set-up with the other ingredients well. I scrapped that frosting and began again with jet-puffed marshmallow creme found in the baking aisle and added a bit more confectioners’ sugar. I also added the red food coloring to get a pinker shade of frosting.

These are great cupcakes. Really great. I think the batter would be great on its own, even without the Oreo’s in the middle. But honestly, if you have Oreo’s around…

Cookie Cupcakes with Raspberry Fluff Frosting - adapted ever-so-slightly from Everyday Food, September 2011

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 large egg plus 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 18 cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies (oreos)
  • 3 tablespoons seedless raspberry jam
  • 2 – 7 oz. jars jet-puffed marshmallow creme
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 drops of red food coloring

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 18 standard muffin cups with paper liners. Melt 2 tablespoons butter; let cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together cocoa powder, flour, granulated sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In a medium bowl lightly beat egg and egg yolk and add melted butter, buttermilk, vanilla and 1/2 cup hot water. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk until smooth.

Spoon 1 tablespoon of batter into each muffin cup and top with one cookie. Top the cookie with 1 tablespoon of batter. Bake until cupcakes are puffed and set, 15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through. Let cupcakes cool completely on a wire rack.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat 1 cup butter and raspberry jam on medium-high speed until smooth. Add both jars of marshmallow creme, confectioners’ sugar and food coloring and beat until fluffy and smooth, 3 minutes. Transfer frosting to a quart-sized zip-top bag; with scissors, snip a small hole in one corner. Pipe frosting onto cooled cupcakes and serve immediately. There will be left over frosting. Enjoy!

Enjoying my blog? I hope that you’ll consider becoming a fan on facebook or that you’ll follow me on twitter.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Those look fantastic! I saw them in Everyday Food and thought they’d be a great bake sale cupcake. I was close to making them the other day but made the peach clafouti instead (which is awesome and easy!).

  2. Carol Richardson

    I’m not really into chocolate cake, but they look really good. I would use a golden vanilla batter and the golden oreos instead.

  3. Karen Gottschalk

    I can concur that these are delicious!!! I had them at the lovely Megan’s birthday and had to restrain myself from taking multiple cupcakes. So YUMMY!!!!.

  4. I made these cupcakes last Sunday and used berry burst Oreos. Wow!! the flavor combination of the berry burst Oreos and the raspberry frosting was phenomenal. Everyone @ home and work loved them. Best cupcakes I’ve ever had. Halloween Oreos would be great also with orange marmalade in the frosting instead of the raspberry or mint Oreos with mint-flavored icing. Same issue of Everyday Food – the Plum/Blueberry Upside Down Cake was also awesome. I’ve made it twice this week. Think I’ll also try it with peaches and blueberries and with a fig/raspberry combination. Used almond flavoring instead of vanilla – Yum!!

  5. I just made these, but with a cream cheese frosting since I can’t get marshmallow fluff where I live. So good! I love the idea of trying the mint oreo ones. Must get my hands on some of those! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. I am marking these to try…. the possibilities are endless when you think about adding an oreo (different flavors at different times of year) or even different cookies…. these could be considered dangerous!

  7. Yummy! On my to do list!

  8. these look great Mike, I’m putting them on my future bake list! I don’t ever buy fluff but I guess it won’t hurt once in awhile.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

