snickerdoodle krispie treats with cinnamon frosting

Rice Krispie Treats, great just as they are. Even better when the recipe is tweaked just a tad. I’ve been trying to get my head around creating a rice krispie treat with a snickerdoodle-like flavor. You see, the soft and chewy snickerdoodle just might be my favorite cookie. If you’re looking for a great recipe, check out the one in Martha Stewart’s Cookie cookbook. They are cheered by most of my friends.

But back to the task at hand, the Snickerdoodle Krispie Treat. I started with the blank canvas of the traditional rice krispie treat recipe that’s right on the box. For my twist, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. I love that you can see the little flecks of cinnamon in each treat. Alone, the treats were terrific. I decided to take them up another notch by adding a cinnamon-sugar frosting. You’re welcome to leave it off, I wouldn’t. It’s pretty tasty on its own.

Enjoy this made by mike original recipe. I’m busy trying to think up my next twist on the humble rice krispie treat. Stay tuned and please feel free to drop some suggestions in the comments section.

Snickerdoodle Krispie Treats with Cinnamon Frosting

Makes 24 with lots of delicious scraps.
For the snickerdoodle krispie treats:
3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
4 Cups of miniature marshmallows
1 Teaspoon cinnamon
1 Teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6 Cups Rice Krispies cereal

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat.
Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
Stir cinnamon and vanilla extract into marshmallow mixture.
Remove saucepan from heat.
Mix in Rice Krispie cereal until uniformly coated with marshmallow mixture.
Spread the mixture evenly in a buttered 13x9x2-inch pan.
Cut into 24 pieces with a 2-inch round cookie cutter. Save the scraps for a snack.

For the cinnamon frosting:
2 Cups powdered sugar, sifted
4 Tablespoons melted butter
2 Tablespoons milk
1/2 Teaspoon cinnamon

Add melted butter, milk and cinnamon to the powdered sugar.
Beat until smooth and creamy.
Spread about a teaspoon of frosting on each snickerdoodle krispie round.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on February 7, 2011, in Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. mmm…i LOVE rice krispie treats! usually, these – http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/11/salted-brown-butter-crispy-treats/ – are my go-to recipe, but i never thought to try cinnamon…. i definitely have to try this!

    thanks!

  2. SO YUMMY!!!!! seriously, yum!

  3. What a great combo – snickerdoodles and RiceKrispies Treats!

  4. MD. I ‘m happy to see you using your powers for the good of all mankind. Keep up the good work. JM2

  5. Wow — you just combined two of my favorite childhood treats…looks and sounds fantastic! I can’t wait to try it!

  6. I would love a cherry flavor in my treats, with maybe a little chocolate. I do love snickerdoodles! Great idea Mike.

  7. DELICIOUS! Just wanted to let you know that my mom made these Saturday and they were great! Thanks for the recipe! :)

  8. These look great! How long do they keep? Because of the frosting, do they need to be refrigerated or will they keep (I am thinking of making them as a wedding favor for my best friend who can’t have the cookies I’m making for everyone else).

  9. Hi Vanessa. They will last a couple of days stored at room temperature in an air-tight container. Enjoy! And what a sweet gesture for your friend.

  10. one ordinary day

    Yum! Definitely trying these!!

  11. Hello Mike…I saw this pinned on pinterest by One Ordinary Day. I am actually Michelle’s sister. I made these last night for my kids and they were AMAZING!!!! The kids did not even want me to make the frosting because they were so good without it. Thanks for the great recipe.

  1. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Rice Krispie Treats « Girl Grows Up

  2. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Rice Krispie Treats |

  3. Pingback: Link Love |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

