creamy fettuccine with asparagus – everyday food challenge

Is there any recipe that toasted pine nuts wouldn’t improve? I love them scattered over a creamy pasta. It’s one of the reasons that I selected this recipe for Creamy Fettuccine with Asparagus for this week’s Everyday Food Challenge. That and because I love fettuccine alfredo. This looked like a slightly healthier alternative. None of the butter and just a touch of cheese. And only six ingredients! I didn’t have any goat cheese on hand. A really tragedy, since I adore it. I swapped in 4 ounces of neufchatel that I had left over from another recipe. And yes, I realize that this is the second asparagus-centric recipe of the week. I’m an unapologetic fan of this stalky spear of goodness. The whole grain mustard and fresh dill gives the simple creamy sauce a real zip that my partner Greg loved. If you’re looking for a quick week night pasta meal, give this one a try. What’s your favorite asparagus-centric recipe? Please share it in the comments section.


 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in All About Greg, Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds wonderful, Mike. I’m a huge fan of alfredo sauce and I like the idea of a healthier version. And asparagus is just icing on the cake, so to speak. Yum.

  2. What a lovely, creamy, delicious pasta. Wish that was dinner.

  3. Mike this looks delicious and a healthier alfredo is always welcome. I’m sure you hear it all the time, but I’d like to add my voice to all those others who tell you how wonderful your photos are. THEY REALLY ARE! I’m so pleased you visited my blog. I hope you”ll stop by often. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers

