5 days of sweets – pumpkin doughnut muffins

Sugar and spice and everything nice. That’s one way to describe these doughnuts disguised as muffins disguised again as doughnuts. I don’t think there’s a better way to end 5 Days of Sweets than with a baked treat bathed in butter then rolled in cinnamon sugar. So there you have it, the Pumpkin Doughnut Muffin from Everyday Food magazine.

You can’t really tell from the photo, but these are big. My friend Nancy, said she used a mini muffin pan when she tried out the recipe. I think that’s a pretty great idea. One caution about the recipe. It calls for 1 1/4 cups pure pumpkin puree (from a 15-ounce can). You will not use all of the puree from the can. If you do, I’m sure your baking ratios will  be off, and you’ll not have the perfectly domed muffins seen here. Special thanks to Greg for taking a few moments away from the Browns game to take those over-the-shoulder action shots.

These Pumpkin Doughnut Muffins are perfect with a hot cup of coffee on a cold snowy day. At least that’s how I’m enjoying one on this very snowy Monday morning in Ohio. What’s your favorite treat to enjoy with a hot cup of java?

 

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on December 6, 2010, in 5 Days of Sweets, Everyday Food Challenge, Food & Drink, Martha Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad you made these I saw them in Martha’s Everyday Mag last month and have been wanting to try them, they look SO good.

  2. My fiance is a Brown’s fan, too, but I don’t think I could probably pull him away from a game for anything. He goes into a weird trance and forgets about everything else.

    Anyway, those look fantastic. I have to fantasize about things like that, because Bill isn’t really a fan of homemade baked goods. The heathen!

    I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for writing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

