5 days of sweets – ricotta orange pound cake

Here we are, day three of “Five Days of Sweets.” I don’t know about you but, but my clothes are feeling a bit tighter. It’s back to Weight Watchers after the holidays… The latest of issue of Food Network Magazine features a section on “Giada’s Perfect Presents.” One of the ideas was to make a Ricotta Orange Pound Cake and gift it along with one of Giada’s loaf pans, conveniently available at your local Target.

The cake is pretty terrific. The ricotta, while making for a lumpy kinda gross looking batter, kept the cake very moist. I’d recommend cooking it for a bit longer than the 45 to 50 minutes suggested in the recipe.  The center of my cake dropped considerably while cooling. Still very tasty though. Just a hint of orange, I tasted the two tablespoons of amaretto more than the citrus. And I was very ok with that.

Coming tomorrow: Mint-Chocolate Brownies from Everyday Food Magazine.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on December 2, 2010, in 5 Days of Sweets, Food & Drink, Holidays! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It looks great and I love the gift tip!

  2. This looks like a good recipe. I love Amaretto. I would maybe make a glaze of powdered sugar, orange extract and Amaretto and drizzle over it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

