meet a blogger monday – sam from today’s nest

It’s our first meet a blogger Monday that’s not about me. And I’m so honored that he agreed to be featured.

I’d like to introduce you to Sam. I ran into Sam on twitter a while back and became quite enamored with his fantastic blog, Today’s Nest. As the title of his blog indicates, Sam combines modern life, home, food, art and design. He does it in a very beautiful way with stunning photographs and meaningful words. One day, he’ll teach you how to make a woven wooden art piece (it’s spectacular and one of my favorite projects he’s done), the next day a lesson on olives. And the recipes…they are to die for. Last week I made his apple cookies with maple brown sugar frosting. They are simply the most amazing cookies I’ve ever baked and will become a staple of my fall recipes for many years to come. Below are a few of the gorgeous photographs from Today’s Nest. I mean look at how he classed up a simple hot dog’s condiments! Following that, is my short interview with Sam. I hope you’ll take a few moments today to subscribe to his blog. You will not be disappointed. It’s always a pleasure to see Sam’s newest post, and I always leave being inspired and feeling as though I have learned a little bit more about the subject.

Name: Sam Henderson

Blog: Today’s Nest

How long have you blogging: Seven months

Why do you blog: Because I have a secret (not that secret anymore) desire to have a book or magazine one day. Because I have a head full of information and creativity that I think might be useful to somebody somewhere. As an extension of my design work… I think everybody has the right and ability to live in a beautiful stylish home (whatever the style). I would totally steal “design for all”, but Target would sue me.

What’s been your favorite post: That is so hard to say. If I had enough time I would do two posts per day. I love design, food, and photography equally. If I must choose one, I would say the lamington post. I think I may have shown many of my readers this treat for the very first time.

Could you share a few of your favorite blogs that you read: For food: mowielicious.com (beautiful photos), oneperfectbite.blogspot.com, and cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com.   For design: apartmenttherapy.com, contemporist.com, designspongeonline.com.   For fun and randomness – artofmanliness.com.

What’s “the one” big project you are most looking forward to: Launch day of our e-bakery (Savour Bakery). We have been hard at work trying to finalize marketing and other details. Right now it looks like mid-Oct.

When you’re not blogging, what are you doing: Wrapping up a career in finance and ramping up my “real” life. I have had a design business for years and will be taking it into full production by the end of the year.

Guiltiest pleasure: Project Runway. I don’t have much time for TV, but I almost never miss this show.

Favorite Drink: Gin and Tonic (with lemon).

These are the lamingtons that Sam mentioned. How beautiful.

About mike @ made by mike

Blogger. Baker. Picture Taker. I live near Akron, Ohio with my partner Greg, Ted the wonder dog, and a pantry full of flour and sugar.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Food & Drink, Meet a Blogger Monday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,719 other followers

